© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Georg

Großherzog von Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr



Großherzog GeorgGroßherzog Georg wurde am 12. August 1779 in Hannover als einziger überlebender Sohn von Herzog Carl und seiner ersten Ehefrau Prinzessin Friederike von Hessen-Darmstadt geboren. Er wurde Georg Friedrich Carl Joseph getauft. Zur Zeit seiner Geburt war Georg Zweiter in der Thronfolge seines Vaters.


Sohn des vermutlichen Erben


Georg verbrachte seine Kindheit auf dem Schloss an der Leine und Schloss Herrenhausen  in Hannover, wo sein Vater Gouverneur war. Georg war nur 3 Jahre alt, als er 1782 seine Mutter verlor, die kurz nach der Geburt ihres zehnten Kindes starb. Zwei Jahre nach dem Tod seiner Mutter hatte Georgs Vater die jüngere  Schwester seiner verstorbenen Frau Prinzessin Charlotte von Hessen-Darmstadt geheiratet. Tragischerweise starb ein Jahr nach der Hochzeit seine Stiefmutter und Tante Charlotte, genau wie seine Mutter drei Jahre zuvor kurz nach der Geburt. Mit seinem Onkel, dem regierenden Herzog Adolf Friedrich IV. anfangs Vierzig und Junggeselle, der mehr als zwanzig Jahre auf dem Thron war, konzentrierte sich Georgs Ausbildung  darauf, ihn auf die Aufgabe vorzubereiten, eines Tages der regierende Herzog zu sein.


Nachdem er im August des folgenden Jahres zum zweiten Mal Witwer  wurde, zog sich Georgs Vater als Gouverneur von Hannover zurück und nahm seine Kinder mit nach Darmstadt, um bei der Familie seiner verstorbenen Ehefrauen zu wohnen. Nach dem Verlust von zwei Müttern wurden Georg und seine Geschwister von ihrer Großmutter mütterlicherseits Landgräfin Georg Wilhelm von Hessen-Darmstadt (geb. Gräfin Marie Louise von Leiningen-Dagsburg) betreut. Als Georg 1794 Darmstadt in Richtung  Neustrelitz verließ, weil er Thronfolger wurde, hatte er bereits den Rang eines Hauptmanns in der britischen Armee inne. Als Thronfolger erwarb er den Titel "Erbprinz".


Thronfolger


Als junger Erbprinz  begann Georg sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften und Philosophie an der Universität Rostock, wo er bis 1799 blieb. Nach dem Studium ging Georg nach Berlin, um sein Studium fortzusetzen und wohnte gleichzeitig am Hof ​​seines Schwagers König Friedrich Wilhelm III. von Preußen, der mit seiner Schwester Luise verheiratet war. 1802 verließ Georg Deutschland nach Italien, wo er die nächsten zwei Jahre auf Reisen verbrachte. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland lebte er eine Zeit lang in Darmstadt, während sein Vater ihn aktiv in den Regierungsbetrieb einbezog.


Im November 1807, während der Napoleonischen Kriege, erhielt Georg die Aufgabe, nach Paris zu gehen, um im Auftrag seines Vaters  mit Kaiser Napoleon I.  über den  Beitritt von  Mecklenburg-Strelitz zum Rheinbund zu verhandeln.  Mecklenburg-Strelitz, das seit 1806 von den Franzosen besetzt und praktisch zum Beitritt gezwungen wurde, war auch einer der ersten, der es verlies.  Auf dem Wiener Kongress zwischen 1814 und 1815 vertrat Georg erneut seinen Vater. Er besuchte auch England nach Napoleons letzter Niederlage 1815 in der Schlacht von Waterloo. Zum Ende des Wiener Kongresses erreichte Georg durch seine Lobbyarbeit und die Unterstützung Preußens und Hannovers dass sein Vater am 28. Juni 1815 zum "Großherzog" erhoben wurde. Damit verbunden war für den  Thronfolger Georg auch eine Wechsel des Titels vom "Erbprinzen" zum "Erbgroßherzog" und dem höheren Stil einer "Königlichen Hoheit". Zur gleichen Zeit übergab sein Vater Georg die Macht in Mecklenburg – Strelitz.


Nachfolge und Ehe


Ein Jahr später, am 6. November 1816, starb Georgs Vater, dem er als Großherzog ordnungsgemäß nachfolgte. Nach dem Tod seines Vaters war Georg sofort nach Mecklenburg-Strelitz zurückgekehrt, um den Thron zu übernehmen. Seine Nachfolge kam in einer schwierigen Zeit für das Großherzogtum, das unter den französischen Besatzern während der Napoleonischen Kriege und des nachfolgenden Befreiungskrieges viele Schwierigkeiten erlitten hatte.


Zur Zeit seiner Nachfolge unverheiratet, heiratete der 37-jährige Georg am 17. August 1817 in Kassel Prinzessin Marie von Hessen-Kassel (1796-1880). Marie war die Tochter von Landgraf Friedrich von Hessen-Kassel und seiner Frau Prinzessin Caroline von Nassau-Usingen. Das Paar hatte vier Kinder, Luise (1818-1842), die an Tuberkulose starb, einen Sohn und Erben Friedrich Wilhelm (1819-1904), Caroline (1821-1876), die Kronprinz Frederik von Dänemark (später König Frederik VII.) heiratete, geschieden, bevor er auf den Thron gelangte, und ein zweiter Sohn Georg (1824-1876), der Großherzogin Katharina Michailowna von Russland heiratete und den russischen Zweig des großherzoglichen Hauses gründete.


Eine Reform- und Wiederaufbauherrschaft


Nachdem er in einStatue of Grand Duke Georg in Neustrelitzer schwierigen Zeit den Thron bestieg, begann Georg, Mecklenburg-Strelitz wieder aufzubauen. Um die Höhe der Staatsschulden verringern, verkaufte er 1819 die Städte Reifferscheid, Kronenburg und Schleiden in der Eifel an Preußen, die vom Wiener Kongress als Kriegsausgleich an Mecklenburg-Strelitz verliehen worden waren. Er unternahm Versuche, den Lebensstandard in Mecklenburg-Strelitz zu verbessern, indem er am 22. Februar 1820 die Leibeigenschaft abschaffte und 1826 die Schulpflicht einführte. Georg versuchte auch die Wirtschaft des Landes durch die Verbesserung der Infrastruktur durch den Bau neuer Straßen zu beleben.


Während Georgs Regierungszeit brach die Revolutionen von 1848/1849 in ganz Deutschland aus, von Frankreich beginnend, dass im Februar 1848 den Sturz König Louis Philippes erlebt hatte. Unter Druck nach Aufständen in Berlin und Wien ließen Georg und der Schweriner Großherzog Friedrich Franz II die Schaffung einer verfassungsgebenden Versammlung  mit den folgenden Wahlen zu , die von den Liberalen gewonnen wurden. Der neue Landtag  skizzierte eine radikal neue Verfassung, die eine einzige Parlamentskammer vorsah, und in einem Land, das eine lange Tradition der Feudalaristokratie hatte, trat er auch für die Abschaffung der Privilegien des Adels ein. Aufgrund der doppelten Souveränität der Verfassung über die Schwesterstaaten Schwerin und Strelitz waren die Vorschläge jedoch kaum durchsetzbar. Als die Versammlung dies spürte, versuchten sie, den Doppelcharakter der Regierung loszuwerden und konzentrierten sich darauf, die Verfassung nur in Schwerin einzuführen. Georg und seine Regierung sahen darin einen Versuch, sie zu lähmen, und brachen danach alle Verhandlungen mit der Versammlung ab. Das hat die Verfassung der Regierung Schwerin im Sommer 1849 jedoch nicht aufgehalten.


Der Widerstand gegen die neue Verfassung im  Adel und anderen Fürsten des Hauses Mecklenburg-Schwerin war groß. Die Gegner behaupteten, die alte Feudalverfassung sei nur aufgehoben worden und de jure existiere sie noch, und sie sei von Mecklenburg-Schwerin und Mecklenburg-Strelitz akzeptiert worden  könne jedoch nur mit Zustimmung beider großherzoglichen Häuser, aufgelöst werden und Georg weigerte sich das zu tun.  Georg und die anderen Gegner der neuen Verfassung, zu denen auch der König von Preußen gehörte, wandten sich daraufhin an ein Schiedsgericht, das die neue Verfassung für nichtig erklärte. Dementsprechend wurde die alte Verfassung wieder eingeführt und damit die alte Ordnung wiederhergestellt.


Georgs Herrschaft endete mit seinem Tod im Alter von 81 Jahren am 6. September 1860 in Neustrelitz. Er wurde im Familiengrab der Johanniterkirche  in Mirow beigesetzt.  Seine Witwe Marie überlebte ihn uns verstarb im Jahre 1880. Georgs älterer Sohn Friedrich Wilhelm folgte ihm als Großherzog nach.


Orden und Ehrenzeichen


  • Ritter des Ordens des hl. Hubertus, Bayern (30. Juni 1829)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Elefanten, Dänemark (28. September 1838)
  • Großkreuz des Königlichen Welfenordens, Hannover (1820)
  • Ritter des St. Georgsordens, Hannover (1839)
  • Großkreuz des Ordens von Ludwig, Hessen
  • Ritter des Ordens des Goldenen Löwen, Hessen-Kassel (27. März 1817)
  • Großkreuz des Ordens von St. Stephan, Ungarn (28. Oktober 1839)
  • Ritter des Schwarzen Adlerordens, Preußen (10. März 1795)
  • Ritter des Ordens vom Roten Adler, Preußen
  • Ritter des Ordens von St. Andrew, Russland
  • Großartiges Kreuz des Ernestinischen Hausordens von Sachsen (August 1838)
  • Ritter des Ordens der Seraphim, Schweden (10. Januar 1817)




Start > Geschichte > Herzöge > Georg

© Copyright 2010-2016

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Georg

Grand Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard



Grand Duke Georg was born on 12 August 1779 in Hanover the only surviving son of Duke Carl and his first wife Princess Friederike of Hesse-Darmstadt. He was christened Georg Friedrich Carl Joseph. At the time of his birth Georg was second in the line of succession to the throne behind his father.


Son of the heir presumptive


Georg spent his childhood living at Leine castle and later Herrenhausen castle both of which were in Hanover where his father was the Governor. Georg was aged just 3 when in 1782 he lost his mother who died shortly after she had given birth to her tenth child. Two years after his mothers death Georg’s father was married to his late wife's sister Princess Charlotte of Hesse-Darmstadt. However tragically a year after the wedding his stepmother and aunt Charlotte died, just as his mother had done three years previously shortly after giving birth. With his uncle the reigning duke Adolf Friedrich IV in his early forties and a bachelor, having been on the throne for over twenty years, as he got older Georg’s education was centered around preparing him for the task of one day being the reigning duke himself.


After becoming a widow for a second time in August the following year Georg’s father retired as Governor of Hanover and took his children to Darmstadt to live with the family of his late wives. After the loss of two mothers Georg and his siblings were cared for by their maternal grandmother Landgravine Georg Wilhelm of Hesse-Darmstadt (born Countess Marie Louise of Leiningen-Dagsburg). By the time Georg had left Darmstadt for Neustrelitz in 1794 when he became heir to the throne he already held the rank of Captain in the British Army. As heir apparent he acquired the title “Hereditary Prince”.

-

Heir to the throne


Shortly after becoming heir Georg started his studies in law and philosophy at the University of Rostock where he remained until 1799. After leaving university Georg moved to Berlin to continue his studies while at the same time reside at the court of his brother in law King Friedrich Wilhelm III of Prussia who was married to his sister Luise. In 1802 Georg left Germany for Italy where he spent the next two years travelling. On his return to Germany he went to live for a time in Darmstadt, while his father began to actively involve him in the running of the government.


In November 1807, during the Napoleonic wars, Georg was given the task of going to Paris to negotiate on his father’s behalf for the entry of Mecklenburg-Strelitz into the Confederation of the Rhine, which had been established by Emperor Napoleon I shortly before the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire. Mecklenburg-Strelitz which had been occupied by the French since 1806 and effectively forced into joining the Confederation, was also one of the first to abandon it. At the Congress of Vienna held between 1814 and 1815 Georg again represented his father. He also made a visit to England after Napoleon’s final defeat in 1815 at the Battle of Waterloo.  At the conclusion of the Congress of Vienna as a result of Georg’s lobbying and the support of Prussia and Hanover his father was raised to the dignity “Grand Duke” on 28 June 1815. As the heir apparent Georg also saw a change in title as he was raised from “Hereditary Prince” to “Hereditary Grand Duke” which also came with the higher style of “Royal Highness”. At the same time his elderly father handed over power to Georg.


Succession and marriage


A year later on 6 November 1816 Georg’s father died and he duly succeeded as grand duke. Having been in Switzerland at the time of his father’s death Georg immediately set about returning to Mecklenburg-Strelitz to assume the throne. His succession came at a difficult time for the grand duchy which had suffered many hardships under the French occupation during the Napoleonic wars and the subsequent war of German liberation.


Still unmarried at the time of his succession the 37 year old Georg married Princess Marie of Hesse-Kassel (1796-1880) on 17 August 1817 in Kassel. Marie was the daughter of Landgrave Friedrich of Hesse-Kassel and his wife Princess Caroline of Nassau-Usingen. The couple had four children, Luise (1818-1842) who died of tuberculosis, a son and heir Friedrich Wilhelm (1819-1904), Caroline (1821-1876) who married Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark (later King Frederik VII) though they divorced before he succeeded to the throne, and a second son Georg (1824-1876) who married Grand Duchess Catherine Mikhailovna of Russia and founded the Russian branch of the grand ducal house.


A reforming and rebuilding reign


Having succeeded to the throne at a difficult time Georg set about rebuilding Mecklenburg-Strelitz. In 1819 in order to relive the amount of national debt he sold to Prussia the towns of Reifferscheid, Kronenburg and Schleiden in Eifel which had been awarded to Mecklenburg-Strelitz as war compensation by the Congress of Vienna. He made attempts to improve the standard of living in Mecklenburg-Strelitz by abolishing serfdom on 22 February 1820 and introducing compulsory education in 1826. Georg also tried to revitalise the state’s economy by improving infrastructure through the construction of new roads.


During Georg’s reign the revolutions of 1848/1849 broStatue of Grand Duke Georg in Neustrelitzke out across Germany having spread from France which had witnessed the overthrow of King Louis Philippe in February 1848. Under pressure after revolts in Berlin and Vienna, Georg and the Schwerin Grand Duke Friedrich Franz II allowed for the creation of a joint assembly with the following elections won by the Liberals. The new assembly sketched a radical new constitution proposing a single parliamentary chamber, and in a country which had a long tradition of feudal aristocracy, it also advocated abolishing the privileges enjoyed by the nobility. However due to the double sovereignty the constitution would have over the sister states of Schwerin and Strelitz, this made the proposals almost impossible to implement. With the assembly sensing this they attempted to get rid of the double character of the government and began to focus on introducing the constitution in just Schwerin. Georg and his government seeing this as an attempt to paralyse them broke off all negotiations with the assembly after this. However this did not stop the constitution being adopted by the Schwerin government in the summer of 1849.


Opposition to the new constitution began to rise from the nobility and other princes of the House of Mecklenburg-Schwerin. The opponents claimed that the old feudal constitution had only been suspended and that de jure it still existed, and that having been accepted by both Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz it could only be dissolved with the consent of both grand ducal houses, something Georg had refused to give. In response Georg and the other opponents of the new constitution, which included the King of Prussia, appealed to a Court of Arbitration which declared the new constitution null and void. Accordingly the old constitution was reintroduced and thus the old order restored.


Georg’s reign came to an end with his death at the age of 81 on 6 September 1860 in Neustrelitz. He was interned in the family vault in the Church of St John in Mirow. His widow Marie survived him by twenty years dying in 1880. Georg’s elder son Friedrich Wilhelm succeeded him as grand duke.


Decorations and honours


  • Knight of the Order of St Hubert, Bavaria (30 June 1829)
  • Knight of the Order of the Elephant, Denmark (28 September 1838)
  • Grand Cross of the Royal Guelphic Order, Hanover (1820)
  • Knight of the Order of St George, Hanover (1839)
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Ludwig, Hesse
  • Knight of the House Order of the Golden Lion, Hesse-Kassel (27 March 1817)
  • Grand Cross of the Order of St Stephan, Hungary (28 October 1839)
  • Knight of the Order of the Black Eagle, Prussia (10 March 1795)
  • Knight of the Order of the Red Eagle, Prussia
  • Knight of the Order of St Andrew, Russia
  • Grand Cross of the Saxe Ernestine House Order (August 1838)
  • Knight of the Order of the Seraphim, Sweden (10 January 1817)


Home > History > Dukes > Georg