© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Georg Alexander

Herzog zu Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr, Chef des des Großherzoglichen Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz



Herzog Georg AlexanderHerzog Georg Alexander wurde am 27. August 1921 in Nizza, Frankreich, als ältestes Kind von Herzog Georg und seiner ersten Frau Herzogin Irina geboren. Er wurde  römisch-katholisch mit den Namen Georg Alexander Andreas Carl Michael Peter Philipp Ignatius Maria getauft. Aufgrund der nicht dynastischen Natur seiner Großeltern väterlicherseits hatte Georg Alexander bei der Geburt den Titel Graf von Carlow.


Frühes Leben in Mecklenburg


Der Sohn von zwei russischen Flüchtlingen, Graf Georg Alexander verbrachte das erste Jahr seines Lebens in der Villa Maria an der Promenade des Anglais in Nizza, Frankreich, wo eine Reihe von russischen Adelsflüchtlingen nach der Flucht vor der Verfolgung durch die Bolschewiki siedelten . 1922 zog die Familie in das Mecklenburg-Schweriner Schloss in Remplin, das dem Großonkel des Grafen Georg Alexander, dem Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Herzog Carl Michael, gehörte.


Der Status des Grafen Georg Alexander änderte sich am 11. September 1928, als sein Großonkel Herzog Carl Michael seinen Neffen Graf Georg sowie seine Frau und seine Kinder adoptierte und sie zu seinen dynastischen Erben, Mitgliedern des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz und Herzögen / Herzoginnen zu Mecklenburg machte. Der  Herzog Georg Alexander wurde am 6. Dezember 1934 nach dem Tod seines Großonkels in  Nachfolge seines Vaters dann Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Thronfolger und Erbprinz.


Herzog Georg Alexander und seine Geschwister erhielten eine kaiserlich-russische  Erziehung, wobei die Familie einen russischen Diener hatte,  englische Gouvernanten und französische Tutoren für die Kinder beschäftigte. Aufgrund seines Wissens sorgte der Vater auch dafür, dass die Kinder mit der Geschichte des späten kaiserlichen Russland aufgewachsen sind. Die beiden aus Russland vertriebenen großherzoglichen und russischen Kaiserfamilien blieben eng mit dem jungen Herzog Georg Alexander und seinem Vater verbunden, der die Familie bei der Beerdigung des verstorbenen russischen Exilkaisers Großherzog Kirill Wladimirowitsch im Oktober 1938 in Coburg vertrat.  Aufgrund ihres russischen Erbes und ihrer internationalen Verbindungen unterlag  die großherzogliche Familie der Verfolgung durch die nationalsozialistische Regierung in Deutschland.


Während des Zweiten Weltkriegs musste die Familie den Palast in Remplin verlassen, nachdem dieser in der Nacht vom 10. auf den 11. April 1940 bei einem Brand wegen des hiesigen NS-Gauleiters Friedrich Hildebrandt weitgehend zerstört worden war. Obwohl die Familie den größten Teil ihres wertvollen Besitzes im Feuer verlor, gelang es Herzog Georg Alexander symbolisch, zwei Familienwappen zu retten, die er mit einer Axt über der Eingangstür entfernen konnte. Nach dem Verlust ihres heimatlichen Hauses  zog die Familie in eine Villa in der Nikischstraße 4 im Grunewaldviertel von Berlin. Ein weiteres Unglück ereilte die Familie im Februar 1944, als auch ihre Villa verloren ging und bei einem Bombenangriff der Alliierten zerstört wurde. Später in diesem Jahr wurde Herzog Georg Alexander von der Nazi-Geheimpolizei Gestapo festgenommen und zeitweise im Schloss Stauffenberg interniert. Nach der Freilassung Herzog Georg Alexanders und später auch seines ebenfalls verhafteten Vaters wurde die Familie im März 1945 in Sigmaringen wiedervereint, nachdem sie von der Prinzessin von Hohenzollern in die Stadt eingeladen worden war.


Familie, Ausbildung und Karriere


Schloss BiengenIn Sigmaringen traf  Herzog Georg Alexander die ebenfalls  vertriebene königliche Erzherzogin Ilona von Österreich. Das Paar verlobte sich und es wurde am 20. Februar 1946 mit einer standesamtlichen Trauung in der Stadt geheiratet. Zwei Monate später, am 30. April, folgte eine religiöse Hochzeit. In der Nachkriegszeit war eine  Rückkehr nach Mecklenburg,  durch die Eingliederung des Staates in das kommunistisch regierte Ostdeutschland unmöglich geworden und so  verblieb Herzog Georg Alexander und seine neue Ehefrau im westdeutschen Württemberg-Hohenzollern (später fusionierte Baden-Baden) -Württemberg).


Herzog Georg Alexander studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Freiburg und absolvierte gleichzeitig eine Ausbildung zum Bankkaufmann. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums war er für ein Jahrzehnt in Irland für eine Schweizer Holding verantwortlich. Ab 1970 arbeitete er zwei Jahrzehnte für eine Werbeagentur in Deutschland.


Bevor ihre Ehe am 17. Dezember 1974 durch Scheidung aufgelöst wurde, hatten Herzog Georg Alexander und Herzogin Ilona vier Kinder zusammen, Herzogin Elisabeth Christina, geb. 1947, Herzogin Marie Katharina, geb. 1949, Herzogin Irene, geb. 1952 und ein Sohn und Erbe Herzog Borwin, 1956. Nach der  Scheidung haben Herzog Georg Alexander und seine unverheirateten Kinder sich im Schloss Biengen bei Bad-Krozingen niedergelassen.


Chef des Hauses


Herzog Georg Alexander wurde nach dem Tod seines Vaters am 6. Juli 1963 zum Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz, konnte aber in Mecklenburg hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang keine aktive Rolle im Land spielen. All das änderte sich mit dem Fall der Berliner Mauer und der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands 1989/1990 und im Juli 1991. Herzog Georg Alexander wurde der erste mecklenburgische Herzog seit 1945, der in seiner Heimat residierte, als er einer Einladung des Gemeinderates in Mirow, folgte und auf der  Schlossinsel wohnte, wo ihm ein Bungalow zur Verfügung gestellt wurde, der wie die anderen Gebäude auf der Insel renovierungsbedürftig war.


Dies sollte jedoch nur ein vorübergehender Aufenthalt sein, da aufgrund einer Vereinbarung, die auf das Ende der Monarchie zurückgeht, Mitgliedern der großherzoglichen Familie das Recht gewährt wurde, in einem Teil des Mirower Schlosses  zu wohnen, nachdem Restaurierungsarbeiten durchgeführt waren,  erhielt Herzog Georg Alexander  im dritten Stock des restaurierten Palastes eine Privatwohnung. Einen Monat nach seiner Ankunft feierte Herzog Georg Alexander zum ersten Mal seit über 50 Jahren einen Geburtstag in Mecklenburg. Anlässlich seines 70. Geburtstages auf Schloss Mirow nahmen Familie, Freunde und verschiedene Würdenträger teil, darunter der Ministerpräsident von Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.


In  Mecklenburg-Strelitz, welches jetzt Teil des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern war und gerade  der kommunistischen Herrschaft entronnen, verwendete  Herzog Georg Alexander seine Position um neues Bewusstsein für die  Identität und Geschichte von Mecklenburg-Strelitz zu schaffen und die Restaurierung von historischen Denkmälern in der Stadt, dem Mirower Schloss und den anderen Gebäude auf der Schlossinsel zu erreichen. Er suchte Unterstützung dafür bis  weit hin an das Mint Museum in Charlotte, North Carolina, das nach Königin Charlotte von Großbritannien benannt ist, die in Mirow geboren wurde, um zu sehen, ob es ein Interesse daran gab, bei den Restaurierungskosten zu helfen und  1996 wurde 15.000 US-Dollar gespendet. Herzog Georg Alexander war auch ein Befürworter des Belebens  historischer Gruppen und war aktiv an der Fürstenberger  Schützengilde beteiligt, wo er im Juni 1995 eine Urkunde überreichte, zu seiner Wiedergeburt 230 Jahre nach seiner ersten Deklaration durch Herzog Adolf Friedrich IV. und der Auflösung  1945 durch die kommunistischen Behörden. Nach der Wiedervereinigung begann er auch Wiedergutmachungsverhandlungen mit dem Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern über die Rechtsansprüche der Familie aus der nationalsozialistischen NS-Zeit, als sie staatlicher Verfolgung ausgesetzt waren.


Herzog Georg Alexander starb am 26. Januar 1996 im Alter von 74 Jahren in seiner vorübergehenden Behausung auf der Schlossinsel Mirow, kurz nachdem er die Einweihung des restaurierten Mirower Torhauses erlebt hatte, ohne jedoch Zeuge der Fertigstellung der Restaurierungsarbeiten an den anderen Gebäuden, wie dem Schloss  zu sein, welche noch viele weitere Jahre andauern. Am 3. Februar 1996 wurde Herzog Georg Alexander neben seiner Großmutter in der Familiengruft in der Johanniterkirche auf der Schlossinsel Mirow, begleitet von  Mitgliedern der Schützengilde Fürstenberg als Sargträger,  beigesetzt. Er wurde von seinem einzigen Sohn Herzog Borwin als Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz abgelöst.


Orden und Ehrenzeichen


  • Chef des Mecklenburg-Strelitzer-Hausordens der wendischen Krone (6. Juli 1963)
  • Großkreuz mit der Krone im Erz des Mecklenburg-Strelitzer Hausordens der wendischen Krone
  • Ehrenkreuz 1. Klasse des Fürstliche Hausorden von Hohenzollern
  • Ritter der Ehre und Hingabe des Souveränen Malteserordens
  • Ritter des Hausorden von St. Peter von Cetinje, Königliches Haus von Montenegro
  • Großartiges Kreuz des Ordens von Carol I, Königliches Haus von Rumänien
  • Fritz Reuter Abzeichen


Start > Geschichte > Herzöge > Georg Alexander

© Copyright 2010-2017

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Georg Alexander

Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard, Prince of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Head of the Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz



Georg Alexander, Duke of MecklenburgDuke Georg Alexander was born on 27 August 1921 in Nice, France the eldest child of Duke Georg and his first wife Duchess Irina. He was christened into the Roman Catholic Church with the names Georg Alexander Andreas Carl Michael Peter Philip Ignatius Maria. Due to the non dynastic nature of his paternal grandparents marriage at birth Georg Alexander bore the title Count of Carlow.


Early life in Mecklenburg


The son of two Russian refugees Count Georg Alexander spent the first year of his life at the Villa Maria on the Promenade des Anglais in Nice, France where a number of fellow Russian noble refugees had settled following their escape from persecution at the hands of the Bolsheviks. In 1922 the family moved into the Remplin Palace in Mecklenburg-Schwerin which was owned by Count Georg Alexander’s great uncle Duke Carl Michael, the head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


The status of Count Georg Alexander changed on 11 September 1928 when his great uncle Duke Carl Michael adopted his nephew Count Georg, as well as his wife and children, making them his dynastic heirs, members of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and Dukes/Duchesses of Mecklenburg. The now Duke Georg Alexander became heir apparent and hereditary prince on 6 December 1934 upon the death of his great uncle and succession of his father as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Duke Georg Alexander and his siblings received an Imperial Russian type of upbringing with the family having a Russian servant and employing English governesses and French tutors for the children. Drawing on his knowledge their father also ensured the children grew up knowing the history of late Imperial Russia. Both exiled from Russia the grand ducal and Russian imperial families remained close with the young Duke Georg Alexander and his father representing the family at the burial of the late Russian Emperor in exile, Grand Duke Kirill Vladimirovich, in Coburg in October 1938. However due to their Russian heritage and international connections the grand ducal family faced persecution from the Nazi government in Germany.


During the Second World War the family had to leave the Remplin Palace after it was largely destroyed during the night of 10 to 11 April 1940 in a fire instigated by the local Nazi Gauleiter, Friedrich Hildebrandt. Although the family lost most of their valuable possessions in the fire, symbolically Duke Georg Alexander managed to save two family coats of arms, using an axe to remove them from above the front door. After the loss of their Remplin home the family took up residence in a villa at 4 Nikisch Street in the Grunewald quarter of Berlin. However further misfortune befell the family in February 1944 when their villa was also lost, destroyed in an Allied bombing raid. Later that year Duke Georg Alexander was arrested by the Nazi secret police, the Gestapo, and was for a time interned in Stauffenberg Castle. After Duke Georg Alexander’s release and later that of his father, who had also been arrested, the whole family was reunited in March 1945 in Sigmaringen having been invited to the city by the Princess of Hohenzollern.


Family, education and career


In Sigmaringen DukeBiengen Palace Georg Alexander met fellow displaced royal Archduchess Ilona of Austria. The couple became engaged and were married in the town in a civil wedding on 20 February 1946, this was followed by a religious wedding two months later on 30 April. In the post war period with a return to Mecklenburg impossible due to the state having become part of the communist ruled East Germany, Duke Georg Alexander and his new wife remained in the West German state of Württemberg-Hohenzollern (later merged into a new state Baden-Württemberg).


Duke Georg Alexander studied law at the University of Freiburg while also training as a bank clerk. After the completion of his studies he spent a decade administrating an estate in Ireland for a Swiss Holding Company. From 1970 onwards he spent two decades working for an advertising company in Germany.


Before their marriage was dissolved by divorce on 17 December 1974, Duke Georg Alexander and Duchess Ilona had four children together, Duchess Elisabeth Christina, born 1947, Duchess Marie Katharina, born 1949, Duchess Irene, born 1952 and a son and heir Duke Borwin, born 1956. Following the divorce Duke Georg Alexander and his unmarried children took up residence in the Biengen Palace near Bad-Krozingen.


Head of the house


Duke Georg Alexander succeeded as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz upon the death of his father on 6 July 1963, however with Mecklenburg being behind the Iron Curtain he was unable to play an active role in the state. All that changed with the fall of the Berlin wall and the reunification of Germany in 1989/1990 and in July 1991 Duke Georg Alexander became the first Mecklenburg duke since 1945 to reside in their homeland when he accepted an invitation from the local council in Mirow to take up residence on the Castle Island where he was provided with a bungalow, which like the other buildings on the island was in need of renovation.


However this was just to be a temporary residence as due to an agreement dating back to the end of the monarchy giving members of the grand ducal family the right to reside in part of the Mirow Palace it was intended, once restoration work could be carried out, for Duke Georg Alexander to be given private apartments on the third floor of a restored palace. A month after his arrival for the first time in over 50 years Duke Georg Alexander celebrated a birthday in Mecklenburg. His 70th birthday celebrations held on the Mirow Castle Island was attended by family, friends and various dignities including the Minister-President of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.


With Mecklenburg-Strelitz now part of the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and just emerging from communist rule, Duke Georg Alexander used his position to try and raise awareness of the separate identity and history of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and to promote the restoration of historic monuments in the state such as Mirow Palace and the other buildings on the Castle Island. He sought support for this from far and wide writing to the Mint Museum in Charlotte, North Carolina, which was named after Queen Charlotte of Great Britain who was born in Mirow, to see if there was an interest in helping with the restoration costs, which there turned out to be with a donation of $15,000 being sent in 1996. Duke Georg Alexander was also a supporter of the re-emergence of historic groups and was actively involved with the Fürstenberg Shooters Guild, presenting them with a certificate in June 1995 formally confirming its revival 230 years after it had first been established by decree of Duke Adolf Friedrich IV and three years after it had been re-established following its forced dissolution in 1945 by the communist authorities. After reunification he also opened restitution negotiations with the State of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern over the family’s legal claims dating back to the Nazi era when they had been subjected to state sponsored persecution.The sarcophagus of Duke Georg Alexander in the family crypt in the Church of St John in Mirow


Duke Georg Alexander died on 26 January 1996 aged 74 in his temporary home on the Mirow Castle Island shortly after witnessing the inauguration of the restored Mirow gatehouse, but without witnessing the completion of restoration work on the other buildings, such as the palace, which would be ongoing for many more years. On 3 February in what would be the first such burial there since Grand Duchess Elisabeth in 1933, Duke Georg Alexander was interned alongside his ancestors in the family crypt in the Church of St John on the Mirow Castle Island with members of the Fürstenberg Shooters Guild acting as pall-bearers. He was succeeded as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz by his only son Duke Borwin.


Honours


  • Head of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown (6 July 1963)
  • Grand Cross with the Crown in Ore of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown
  • Honour Cross 1st Class of the Princely House Order of Hohenzollern
  • Knight of Honour and Devotion of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta
  • Knight of the House Order of St Peter of Cetinje, Royal House of Montenegro
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Carol I, Royal House of Romania
  • Fritz Reuter Badge

Home > History > Dukes > Georg Alexander