© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Carl Michael

Herzog zu Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr, Chef des des Großherzoglichen Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Herzog Carl Michael

Herzog Carl Michael, PhD wurde am 17. Juni 1863 im Oranienbaum Palast in der Nähe von St. Petersburg, als jüngstes Kind von Herzog Georg und seiner Frau Herzogin Ekaterina geboren. Er wurde Carl Michael Wilhelm August Alexander getauft. In Russland war er unter dem Namen und Vatersnamen Mikhail Georgyevich bekannt, was "Michael Sohn von Georg" bedeutet.


Ein deutscher Prinz in Russland


Carl Michael wurde in Russland geboren und wuchs dort auf, wo seine Familie eine Reihe von ausgedehnten Besitztümern hatte, darunter Oranienbaum und den Mikhailovsky-Palast, den seine Mutter von ihren Eltern Großherzog Mikhail Pawlowitsch, dem jüngsten Sohn von Kaiser Paul I., und Großfürstin Elena Pawlowna geerbt hatte , geborene Prinzessin Charlotte von Württemberg. Obwohl Carl Michael und seine Familie ein Teil des russischen Hofes waren und eng mit der kaiserlichen Familie verwandt waren, wurden sie, da sie keine offiziellen Mitglieder der kaiserlichen Familie waren, von den Romanows als "halbe Souveräne" bezeichnet, ein Begriff, der auch andere  fürstliche Familien beschreibt, die eng mit der kaiserlichen Familie, der Oldenburger und den Leuchtenbergern verwandt waren. Mit dem Tod seines Vaters im Jahr 1876, nur drei Tage nach seinem 13. Geburtstag, erhielt er eine jährliche Apange vom Großherzogtum Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Zwischen 1879 und 1883 wurde Carl Michael von Baron Ferdinand von Wrangell, einem russischen Marineoffizier, unterrichtet, bevor er Russland verließ, um dreieinhalb Jahre in Deutschland zu studieren. Carl Michaels Mutter ernannte Baron Otto Buxhoeveden, ein Mitglied des russischen Staatsrats, zu seinem Begleiter. In Deutschland besuchte Carl Michael die Kaiser-Wilhelm-Universität Strassburg, wo er unter der Leitung des bekannten Professors Lujo Brentano Volkswirtschaftslehre studierte. Er promovierte 1887 als Doktor der Philosophie in Strassburg.


Carl Michael trat in die Fußstapfen seines Vaters und älteren Bruders Herzog Georg Alexander und begann eine Karriere in der kaiserlich-russischen Armee, wo er beständig  aufstieg. Wie es für königliche Prinzen üblich ist, wurde er nominell schon früh in die Armee aufgenommen und wurde 1870 ein Fähnrich der 1. Batterie "Großfürst Michail Pawlowitsch" der 1. Artillerie-Brigade der russischen Garde. Er wurde auf den zweiten Rang  zum Leutnant im Jahr 1884 befördert,  Stabsführer im Jahre 1892 und Kapitän im Jahre 1894. Nach dem Abschluss der Artillerieoffiziersschule im Jahre 1895 im Rang eines Obersten, wurde Carl Michael Kommandeur der 1. Batterie der Leibgarde 1. Artilleriebrigade, bis 1901. Mit seiner Beförderung zum Generalmajor im Jahre 1904 wurde er Kommandant der 1. Brigade der Artillerie der Garde. 1908 wurde er in den Rang eines Generalleutnants befördert und übernahm die Position des Artilleristen des 1. Armeekorps.


Mit dem Tod ihrer Mutter im Jahre 1894 erbten Carl Michael und seine Geschwister in Russland eine große Anzahl wertvoller Gegenstände und Besitztümer. Eines der geerbten Objekte war der Mikhailovsky-Palast, der später für fünf Millionen Rubel an den russischen Kaiser Nikolai II. verkauft wurde, der ihn in das Staatliche Russische Museum umwandelte. Auch im Rahmen seines Erbanteils erhielt Carl Michael das Schloss Remplin in Mecklenburg-Schwerin.


Nach dem Tod seines Bruders Herzog Georg Alexander im Jahr 1909 widmete sich Carl Michael dem Wohl seiner verwitweten Schwägerin Gräfin Natalia von Carlow und seiner Nichten und Neffen, Katharina, Marie, Natalia und Georg. Da die Kinder Mecklenburger waren, wurde Carl Michael von Großherzog Adolf Friedrich V. zum Vormund ernannt.


Der mutmaßliche Erbe  und der Erste Weltkrieg


Mit dem Tod von Großherzog Adolf Friedrich V. am 11. Juni 1914 und der Thronbesteigung seines Sohnes Adolf Friedrich VI. wurde Carl Michael Thronfolger von Mecklenburg-Strelitz. Nicht lange danach schrieb er dem neuen Großfürsten, dass er, da er in Russland mit umfangreichen Eigentumsinteressen fest verankert sei, die russische Staatsbürgerschaft annehmen und seine Thronrechte aufgeben wolle. Obwohl Adolf Friedrich VI. ihm die Einbürgerung in Russland gestattete, verlangte er von Carl Michael, dass er einen formellen Verzicht bis zu der für seine Thronbesteigung maßgeblichen Frist, auf die Carl Michael eingewilligt hatte, aufschiebt.


Nach der Einwilligung von Adolf Friedrich VI. wurde Carl Michael am 25. Juli 1914 in Russland eingebürgert. Nicht lange danach erklärte Österreich-Ungarn Serbien den Krieg und der Erste Weltkrieg brach aus. Russland trat am 1. August ein, als Deutschland den Krieg erklärte. Carl Michael war seit 1910 im Kriegsministerium gewesen, aber er trat kurz nach dem Ausbruch der Feindseligkeiten zurück, um mit der kaiserlich-russischen Armee ins Feld zu ziehen. Nachdem er zunächst dem Kommandanten des Gardetrupps zur Verfügung stand, der ihn zum Kommandeur der Artillerie an der Dvina-Front machte, wurde er Ende 1914 zum Inspekteur der Artillerie der Garde ernannt, einen Posten, den er bis Juli 1916 innehatte. Im Dezember 1915 wurde er zum Generaladjutanten ernannt.


Die russische Revolution


Carl Michael war in St. Petersburg Zeuge der Unruhen im Februar 1917, die in der Abdankung des Kaisers Nikolai II. gipfelten. Als Verwandter des gestürzten Kaisers wurde er von der neuen provisorischen Regierung aus der Armee entlassen. Im März 1917 verbreitete sich in den unteren Rängen eines Marine-College ein Gerücht, dass Carl Michaels Palast in Oranienbaum einen geheimen Vorrat an Gold, Silber und Waffen besaß. Es wurde eine Suche durchgeführt und obwohl keine Waffen gefunden wurden, fanden sie versteckte Kristallware und Silber. Der Ermittlungsbeamte meldete seine Ergebnisse der Staatsduma und am 6. März wurde Carl Michael verhaftet und in den Taurischen Palast gebracht, wo er die Nacht verbrachte, bevor er am nächsten Tag verhört wurde. Er wurde bald danach entlassen.


Nach seiner Freilassung kehrte Carl Michael nach St. Petersburg zurück. Im Herbst 1917 jedoch, als sich die innere Lage in Russland verschlechterte, verließ er die Stadt mit seiner verwitweten Schwester Prinzessin Helene von Sachsen-Altenburg, um sich mit ihrer Schwägerin Gräfin Natalia von Carlow und ihren Kindern in Kislowodsk, einer Stadt im Kaukasus, zu treffen. Ein paar Monate später wurde das russische Eigentum der Familie enteignet.


Chef des Hauses


Am 23. Februar 1918 starb Großherzog Adolf Friedrich VI. Als nächster Agnat folgte ihm Carl Michael sofort als Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz und de jure Großherzog nach. Da er jedoch in Russland war und zuvor angedeutet hatte, dass er im Falle seiner Nachfolge den Thron ablehnen würde, reiste Großherzog Friedrich Franz IV. von Mecklenburg-Schwerin nach Neustrelitz, wo er  seine Regentschaft proklamierte und die Regierung übernahm um Fakten zu schaffen.  Obwohl Carl Michael während des Krieges auf der Gegenseite zu Deutschland gedient hatte, schloss dies ihn nicht von der Nachfolge aus. Im Jahre 1917 erließ das deutsche Bundesland Sachsen-Coburg und Gotha ausdrücklich Gesetze, die die Gebiete der feindlichen Staaten, in Wirklichkeit die britischen und belgischen Königsfamilien, von der Erbfolge ausschlossen. Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass Adolf Friedrich VI. den jüngeren Sohn Herzog Christian Ludwig (1912-1996) von Friedrich Franz IV. als Großherzog von Mecklenburg-Strelitz zur Wahrung der Unabhängigkeit des Großherzogtums ernennen ließ.

Nachdem Carl Michael zuvor angedeutet hatte, dass er im Falle seiner Nachfolge den Thron ablehnen würde, schrieb der Regent Friedrich Franz IV. am 17. Mai 1918 an ihn, um seine Position zu klären. Wenn Carl Michael seine Thronrechte aufgegeben hätte, hätte es höchstwahrscheinlich zu einer Vereinigung der beiden Mecklenburger Staaten aufgrund der Bedingungen des 1701 unterzeichneten  Hamburger Vergleichs , der Mecklenburg-Strelitz begründet hatte, geführt. Die Leute von Strelitz, die ihre Unabhängigkeit schätzten, waren vehement gegen eine solche Vereinigung und schickten eine Petition an Carl Michael, die ihn nie erreichte und ihn aufforderte, den Thron zu akzeptieren. Friedrich Franz 'Brief vom 17. Mai wurde am 24. Juli von Carl Michael entgegengenommen. Er antwortete auf das Schreiben vom 28. Juli, in dem er seine Rechte auf den Thron und die Regentschaft in Mecklenburg aufgab, obwohl er alle anderen ihm zustehenden Rechte als Mitglied des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz behielt.


Mit dem Ende des Krieges; Im November 1918 machten die Ereignisse in Deutschland Carl Michaels Antwort irrelevant, da der Thron nicht durch Verzicht, sondern durch Revolution verloren ging.  Am 14. November musste Friedrich Franz IV. mit der Umwandlung des gesamten Deutschen Reiches in eine Republik seinen eigenen Thron aufgeben, am 16. November ging auch seine Regentschaft in Strelitz zu Ende. Friedrich Franz erhielt  Carl Michaels Brief im Dezember 1918 / Januar 1919, als er in Dänemark verbannt war und er nicht mehr das Recht hatte, Mecklenburg-Strelitz zu vertreten. Da es keinen Thron mehr gab, auf den man verzichten konnte, hatte Carl Michaels Brief keinen wirklichen legalen Effekt.


Leben im Exil


Mit dem Sieg der Roten Armee im russischen Bürgerkrieg verließen Carl Michael und seine Familie 1919 das Land unter britischem Schutz, um dem vordringenden roten Terror zu entkommen. Jetzt, als die Familie in Frankreich ins Exil ging, machten sich Carl Michael und seine Schwester Prinzessin Helene auf den Weg nach Kopenhagen, wo Carl Michael in verschiedene Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen für im Exil lebende russische Soldaten engagiert war. Er war Vorsitzender der "Mutual Charitable Society for Russian Officers in Denmark" und schaffte es, mit dem Verkauf von  Kunstwerken  der russischen Großfürstinnen Xenia und Olga  verletzte Soldaten zu unterstützen.


Im Oktober 1919 begann  Carl Michael Verhandlungen mit der republikanischen Regierung deHerzog Carl Michaels Grab in Remplins Freistaates Mecklenburg-Strelitz, um die Rechtsansprüche, die er als Mitglied des ehemaligen Herrscherhauses innehatte, zu regeln. Während des Prozesses wurde ihm die Staatsbürgerschaft verweigert und er wurde für eine minimale Entschädigung von privatem Eigentum enteignet. Seine Forderung wurde 1921 beglichen, als er für den Verzicht auf seinen Thronanspruch 5.000.000 Mark in bar erhielt. Nicht lange danach sank der Geldwert durch  Hyperinflation auf ein Milliardstel ihres Vorkriegswertes. Von seinen finanziellen Problemen befreit, versteigerte Carl Michael 1923 bei Christie's in London seine wertvolle Sammlung französischer Schnupftabakdosen, die er von seinem Vater geerbt hatte. Er verlor jedoch 26% des Nettoerlöses des Verkaufs, der dem Alliierten Reparationsfonds übergeben werden musste, da die Gegenstände aus Deutschland importiert worden waren.


Mit dem Tod  Carl Michaels, als letztem Mann der Mecklenburg-Strelitzer-Familie, würde die großherzogliche Familie mit ihrer über 200-jährigen Geschichte aussterben. Um sein Überleben am 11. September 1928 zu sichern, adoptierte er seinen nicht dynastischen Neffen Graf Georg von Carlow und seine Kinder als seine Erben und gewährte ihnen die Mitgliedschaft im Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz und den Titel Herzog / Herzogin von Mecklenburg. Die Adoption wurde am 5. Oktober 1928 von einem Gericht in Malchin anerkannt und am 18. Juli 1929 vom Großherzog Kirill Vladimirovich, dem Oberhaupt des Kaiserhauses Russlands, und später, am 23. Dezember, von Großherzog Friedrich Franz IV. offiziell anerkannt.


Carl Michael verließ Dänemark 1930 und zog nach Schloss Remplin, das seit 1922 von seinem Neffen Georg bewohnt wurde. Er starb dort vier Jahre später am 6. Dezember 1934 im Alter von 71 Jahren und wurde auf dem Friedhof von Remplin begraben. Sein Neffe, seit der Adoption Herzog Georg von Mecklenburg, folgte ihm als Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Orden und Ehrenzeichen


  • Großkreuz des Mecklenburg-Strelitzer Hausordens der wendischen Krone (17. Juni 1880)
  • Chef des Mecklenburg-Strelitz-Hausordens der wendischen Krone (23. Februar 1918)
  • 1. Klasse des Ordens des aufgehenden Sterns von Buchara (1894)
  • Ritter des Ordens des heiligen Andreas, Russland (28. März 1904)
  • Ritter des Ordens des hl. Alexander Newski, Russland (28. März 1904)
  • 1. Klasse des St. Anna-Ordens, Russland (28. März 1904)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Weißen Adlers, Russland (28. März 1904)
  • 1. Klasse des St. Stanislaus-Ordens, Russland (28. März 1904)
  • 4. (1890), 3. (1898) und 2. Klasse (1911) des Ordens des Heiligen Wladimir, Russland
  • 4. Klasse (30. Januar 1915), St. Georgs Schwert (11. Mai 1915) des Ordens des Heiligen Georg, Russland
  • Kaiser Alexander III. Von Russland Krönungsmedaille (1883)
  • Großkreuz des Sachsen-Ernestine-Hausordens, Sachsen-Altenburg (1892)
  • Großkreuz des Hausordens des Weißen Falken, Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach (1884)



Start > Geschichte > Herzöge > Carl Michael

© Copyright 2010-2015

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Carl Michael

Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard, Head of the Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz



Duke Carl MichaelDuke Carl Michael, PhD was born on 17 June 1863 in the Oranienbaum Palace near St Petersburg, the youngest child of Duke Georg and his wife Duchess Ekaterina. He was christened Carl Michael Wilhelm August Alexander. In Russia he was known by the name and patronymic Mikhail Georgyevich, meaning ‘Michael son of Georg’.


A German prince in Russia


Carl Michael was born and raised in Russia where his family owned a number of vast estates including Oranienbaum and the Mikhailovsky Palace, which his mother had inherited from her parents Grand Duke Mikhail Pavlovich, the youngest son of Emperor Pavel I, and Grand Duchess Elena Pavlovna, born Princess Charlotte of Württemberg. Although Carl Michael and his family were a part of the Russian court and closely related to the Imperial Family, because they were not official members of the Imperial Family they were termed “half sovereigns” by the Romanov’s, a term also used to describe the other princely families who were closely related to the Imperial Family, the Oldenburg’s and the Leuchtenberg’s. With the death of his father in 1876 just three days after his 13th birthday, he began to receive an annual apanage from the Grand Duchy of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Between 1879 and 1883 Carl Michael was tutored by Baron Ferdinand von Wrangell, a Russian Naval Officer, before leaving Russia to spend three and a half years studying in Germany. Carl Michael’s mother appointed Baron Otto Buxhoeveden, a member of the Russian State Council, to be his companion during this period. In Germany Carl Michael attended the Emperor Wilhelm University of Strassburg where he studied national economics under the guidance of distinguished professor Lujo Brentano. He graduated from Strassburg in 1887 as a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).


Carl Michael followed in footsteps of his father and older brother Duke Georg Alexander and embarked upon a career in the Imperial Russian Army where steadily rose through the ranks. As is traditional for royal princes he was nominally entered into the army at an early age becoming an Ensign of the 1st Battery "Grand Duke Mikhail Pavlovich" of the 1st Brigade of Artillery of the Russian Guard in 1870. He was promoted to the rank Second Lieutenant in 1884, Lieutenant in 1885, Staff Captain in 1892 and Captain in 1894. After graduating from the Artillery Officers School in 1895 with the rank of Colonel, Carl Michael became Commander of the 1st Battery of the Life Guards 1st Artillery Brigade, remaining in this post until 1901 when he was appointed Commander of the 1st Battalion of the Life Guards 1st Artillery Brigade. With his promotion to the rank Major General in 1904 he became Commander of the 1st Brigade of Artillery of the Guard. In 1908 he was promoted to the rank Lieutenant General and assumed the position of Chief of Artillery of the 1st Army Corps.


With the death of their mother in 1894, Carl Michael and his siblings inherited a vast array of valuable items and property in Russia.  One of the properties inherited was the Mikhailovsky Palace which was subsequently sold to the Russian Emperor Nikolai II for five million roubles who transformed it into the State Russian Museum. Also as part of his share of the inheritance Carl Michael received Schloss Remplin located in Mecklenburg-Schwerin.


Following the death of his brother Duke Georg Alexander in 1909, Carl Michael devoted himself to the welfare of his widowed sister in law Countess Natalia of Carlow and his nieces and nephew, Katharina, Marie, Natalia and Georg. As the children were nationals of Mecklenburg, Carl Michael was appointed their guardian by Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich V.


Heir presumptive and the First World War


With the death of Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich V on 11 June 1914 and the ascension of his son Adolf Friedrich VI, Carl Michael became heir presumptive to the throne of Mecklenburg-Strelitz. Not long after he wrote to the new grand duke indicating that as he was firmly established in Russia with extensive property interests, he wished to assume Russian citizenship and renounce his rights to the throne. Although Adolf Friedrich VI granted him permission to be naturalised in Russia he requested that Carl Michael defer making a formal renunciation until such time as it was relevant to his actual succession to the throne, which Carl Michael agreed to.


After receiving Adolf Friedrich VI’s consent Carl Michael was naturalised in Russia on 25 July 1914. Not long after Austria-Hungary declared war upon Serbia and the First World War broke out, with Russia entering on 1 August when Germany declared war. Carl Michael had been at the Ministry of War since 1910 but he resigned shortly after the outbreak of hostilities to take to the field with the Imperial Russian Army. After initially being at the disposal of the commander of the Guard corps, who put him in command of the artillery on the Dvina front, in late 1914 he was appointed Inspector of Artillery of the Guard, a post he held until July 1916. In December 1915 he had been made an Adjutant General.


The Russian revolution


Carl Michael was in St Petersburg to witness the turmoil of the February 1917 revolution that culminated in the abdication of the Emperor Nikolai II. As he was a relative of the overthrown Emperor he was dismissed from the army by the new Provisional government. In March 1917 a rumour spread among the lower ranks of a naval college that Carl Michael’s palace at Oranienbaum had a secret stash of gold, silver and weapons. A search was carried out and although no weapons were found they did uncover hidden crystal ware and silver. The investigating officer reported his findings to the State Duma and on 6 March Carl Michael was arrested and taken to the Tauride Palace where he spent the night before being questioned the next day. He was released soon after.


After his release Carl Michael returned to his home in St Petersburg. However in the autumn of 1917 with the internal situation in Russia worsening he left the city with his widowed sister Princess Helene of Saxe-Altenburg to join up with their sister in law Countess Natalia of Carlow and her children in Kislovodsk, a city in the Caucasus region of Russia. A few months later the family’s Russian property was expropriated.


Head of the house


On 23 February 1918 Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich VI died. As the next agnate Carl Michael immediately succeeded him as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and de jure grand duke. However because he was in Russia and had indicated previously that he would renounce the throne in the event of his succession, Grand Duke Friedrich Franz IV of Mecklenburg-Schwerin travelled to Neustrelitz where he issued a proclamation assuming control of the government as regent while “various facts” surrounding the succession were resolved. Although Carl Michael had served on the opposite side to Germany during the war this did not exclude him from the succession. In 1917 the German state of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha specifically issued legislation excluding subjects of enemy states, in effect the British and Belgian Royal Families, from the succession. Further complicating matters was the will of Adolf Friedrich VI who asked that Friedrich Franz IV’s younger son Duke Christian Ludwig (1912-1996) succeed him as grand duke of Mecklenburg-Strelitz to preserve the independence of the grand duchy.


With Carl Michael having previously indicated that he would renounce the throne in the event of his succession, on 17 May 1918 the regent Friedrich Franz IV wrote to him seeking to clarify his position. If Carl Michael did renounce his rights to the throne it would most likely have resulted in the union of the two Mecklenburg’s due to the terms set out in the 1701 Treaty of Hamburg that established Mecklenburg-Strelitz. The people of Strelitz who cherished their independence, were vehemently opposed to such a union and sent a petition to Carl Michael, which never reached him, calling on him to accept the throne. Friedrich Franz’s letter from 17 May was received by Carl Michael on 24 July. He replied to the letter on 28 July renouncing his rights to the throne and regency in Mecklenburg, although he reserved all other rights due to him as a member of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


With the war now drawing to a close; in November 1918 events in Germany would render Carl Michael’s response irrelevant as the throne would be taken not by renunciation but revolution. On 14 November Friedrich Franz IV had to renounce his own throne as the whole German Empire transformed into a Republic, on 16 November his regency in Strelitz also came to an end. Friedrich Franz received Carl Michael’s letter in December 1918/January 1919 while exiled in Denmark and when he no longer had the right to represent Mecklenburg-Strelitz. As there was no longer a throne to renounce, by the time Carl Michael’s letter arrived it had no real legal effect.


Life in exile


With the Red Army’s success in the Russian Civil War, Carl Michael and his family left the country in 1919 under British protection to escape the encroaching red terror. Now exiles the family disembarked in France, Carl Michael and his sister Princess Helene then made their way to Copenhagen where Carl Michael became involved in various charities for exiled Russian soldiers. He served as chairman of “Mutual Charitable Society for Russian Officers in Denmark” and managed to enlist the help of his cousins and fellow exiles the Russian Grand Duchesses Xenia and Olga who painted works of art which were sold at raffles to help raise money for disabled soldiers.


Duke Carl Michael's grave in RemplinIn October 1919 Carl Michael opened negotiations with the republican government of the Free State of Mecklenburg-Strelitz in order to settle the legal claims that he held as a member of the former reigning house. During the process he was denied citizenship and was expropriated of some private property for minimal compensation. His claim was settled in 1921 when, in return for renouncing his claim to the throne, he received 5,000,000 Mark’s in cash. Not long after in the post war period the mark fell to one-billionth of its pre war value due to hyperinflation. Seeking relief from his financial problems, in 1923 Carl Michael auctioned off at Christie’s in London his valuable collection of French snuff boxes which he had inherited from his father. However he lost 26% of the sale’s net proceeds which had to be handed over to the Allies Reparations Fund as the items had been imported from Germany.


As the last male in Mecklenburg-Strelitz family with Carl Michael’s death the grand ducal family, with its history dating back over 200 years, would die out. In order to secure its survival on 11 September 1928 he adopted his non dynastic nephew Count Georg of Carlow and his children as his heirs granting them membership of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and the title Duke/Duchess of Mecklenburg. The adoption was recognised by a court in Malchin on 5 October 1928 and received formal recognition from Grand Duke Kirill Vladimirovich, the Head of the Imperial House of Russia, on 18 July 1929 and later that year on 23 December from Grand Duke Friedrich Franz IV.


Carl Michael left Denmark in 1930 and moved into Schloss Remplin which had been occupied by his nephew Georg since 1922. He died there four years later on 6 December 1934 at the age of 71 and was buried in Remplin cemetery. His nephew, styled Duke Georg of Mecklenburg since the adoption, succeeded him as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Decorations and honours


  • Grand Cross of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown (17 June 1880)
  • Head of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown (23 February 1918)
  • 1st Class of the Order of the Rising Star of Bukhara (1894)
  • Knight of the Order of St Andrew, Russia (28 March 1904)
  • Knight of the Order of St Alexander Newski, Russia (28 March 1904)
  • 1st Class of the Order of St Anne, Russia (28 March 1904)
  • Knight of the Order of White Eagle, Russia (28 March 1904)
  • 1st Class of the Order of St Stanislaus, Russia (28 March 1904)
  • 4th (1890), 3rd (1898) and 2nd Class (1911) of the Order of St Vladimir, Russia
  • 4th Class (30 January 1915), St George’s Sword (11 May 1915) of the Order of St George, Russia
  • Emperor Alexander III of Russia Coronation Medal (1883)
  • Grand Cross of the Saxe Ernestine House Order, Saxe-Altenburg (1892)
  • Grand Cross of the House Order of the White Falcon, Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach (1884)



Home > History > Dukes > Carl Michael