© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Carl

Großherzog von Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr



Großherzog CarlGroßherzog Carl wurde am 10. Oktober 1741 im Schloss Mirow als zweiter Sohn Herzog Carl, Prinz von Mirow und seine Frau Prinzessin Elisabeth Albertine von Sachsen-Hildburghausen geboren. Er wurde Carl Ludwig Friedrich getauft. Mit dem bei seiner Geburt von seinem Onkel Herzog Adolf Friedrich III. besetzten Thron stand Carl in der Nachfolge hinter seinem Vater und seinem älteren Bruder an dritter Stelle. Als zweiter Sohn des mutmaßlichen Erben schien es unwahrscheinlich, dass Carl eines Tages selbst den Thron besteigen würde.


Prinz von Mirow und mutmaßlicher Erbe


Carl verbrachte die ersten elf Jahre seines Lebens in Mirow, wo er und seine Geschwister unter der Leitung des lutherischen Geistlichen Gottlob Burchard Gentzmer ausgebildet wurden. Am 5. Juni 1752 starb Carls Vater, der Prinz von Mirow. Noch im selben Jahr am 11. Dezember starb auch sein Onkel Herzog Adolf Friedrich III. Als Ergebnis gelangte Carls älterer Bruder als Herzog Adolf Friedrich IV. auf den Thron, während Carl selbst als Erbe vermutet wurde.


Mit seiner Brüdernachfolge zogen Carl und seine Familie von Mirow nach Neustrelitz um. Ein paar Jahre später, im Alter von 14 Jahren, verließ Carl das Haus und landete bald darauf als Major in der Armee des Kurfürsten von Hannover (auch König von Großbritannien). Tatsächlich war Carl seit seinem vierten Lebensjahr, als er zum Captain ernannt wurde, in Hannover tätig gewesen. Er diente bis 1758 in Hannover, wonach  er ein Jahr in Genf studierte. Seine Verbindung nach Hannover wurde noch enger, als seine Schwester Charlotte im September 1761 den hannoverschen Kurfürsten und König von Großbritannien, Georg III., heiratete. Carl und sein älterer Bruder hatten ihre Schwester einen Monat zuvor auf ihrer Reise nach Großbritannien begleitet.


1762, kurz vor dem Ende des Siebenjährigen Krieges (1756-1763), verlangte Graf Wilhelm von Schaumburg-Lippe, der zum Befehlshaber der britischen und portugiesischen Streitkräfte ernannt worden war, Carl, ihn nach Lissabon zu begleiten, um bei der Reorganisation der portugiesischen Armee zu helfen , der damals im Krieg gegen Spanien tätig war. Carl segelte von Britannien auf seines Schwagers  Schiff der HMS Venus und kam im Juli in Lissabon ein paar Tage nach Graf Wilhelm an. Er wurde am Tag nach seiner Ankunft vom König von Portugal, Jose I, und seiner Gemahlin, Königin Mariana Vitória, empfangen. Der König ernannte ihn zum Oberst eines Kavallerieregiments und beförderte ihn zum Generalleutnant. Das Kavallerieregiment, in dem er Oberst wurde, wurde nach ihm auch "Herzog von Mecklenburg" genannt. Nach seiner Ankunft in Portugal kehrte Carl im Januar 1763 an Bord der HMS Venus nach Großbritannien zurück. Nachdem er seinen Schwager König Georg III. mit seinem Dienst in Portugal beeindruckt hatte, wurde Carl einen Monat nach seiner Rückkehr von einem Generalmajor zum Generalleutnant befördert der hannoversche Dienst. Er wurde weiterhin vom König zum Gouverneur von Hannover ernannt.


Ehen und Familie


Carl hatte am 18. September 1768 in Darmstadt die Prinzessin Friederike von Hessen-Darmstadt eine Tochter von Landgraf Georg Wilhelm von Hessen-Darmstadt und Gräfin Marie Louise von Leiningen-Dagsburg geheiratet. Das Paar hatte zehn Kinder, von denen fünf bis ins Erwachsenenalter überlebten. Diese überlebenden Töchter waren Charlotte (1769-1818), die Herzog Friedrich von Sachsen-Hildburghausen heiratete, Therese (1773-1839), die Prinz Karl Alexander von Thurn und Taxis heiratete, Luise (1776-1810), die König Friedrich Wilhelm III. von Preußen in Berlin heiratete , Friederike (1778-1841), die zuerst Prinz Ludwig von Preußen, dann  Prinz Friedrich von Solms-Braunfels und zuletzt König Ernst August von Hannover heiratete. Nur ein Sohn überlebte,  Erbprinz Georg (1779-1860).


Kurz nach der zehnten Geburt starb Friederike am 22. Mai 1782 und ließ Carl verwitwet mit einer jungen Familie versorgen. Zwei Jahre nach dem Verlust seiner Frau heiratete Carl am 28. September 1784 in Darmstadt zum zweiten Mal die  Prinzessin Charlotte von Hessen-Darmstadt, die jüngere Schwester seiner verstorbenen Frau. In Deutschland war die Heirat mit der Schwester einer verstorbenen Ehefrau damals gängige Praxis, um den Kindern eine möglichst natürliche Stiefmutter zu bieten. Das neue häusliche Glück wurde jedoch tragisch verkürzt, als Charlotte am 12. Dezember 1785 unter denselben Umständen wie ihre späte Schwester kurz nach der Geburt ihres Sohnes Carl (1785-1837) starb.


Die letzten Jahre als mutmaßlicher Erbe


Nachdem er zum zweiten Mal verwitwet worden war, bat Carl im August des folgenden Jahres seinen Schwager König Georg III., Ihn vom Amt des Statthalters von Hannover zu entbinden. Der König bewilligte seine Bitte und gewährte Carl als Belohnung für seinen langen Dienst eine Pension und beförderte ihn in den Rang eines Feldmarschalls. Mit seinen Kindern zog sich Carl dann nach Darmstadt zurück, um mit der Familie seiner verstorbenen Ehefrauen zu leben. Mit den Kindern, die von ihrer Großmutter betreut wurden, ging  Carl in den nächsten Jahren auf Reisen und besuchte Familienmitglieder in Neustrelitz und Großbritannien. Auch zwischen den Jahren 1785 und 1793 hatte er die Genugtuung, seine Töchter heiraten zu sehen. Mit Darmstadt in der Nähe der kaiserlichen Freien Stadt Frankfurt vertrat Karl das Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz bei den letzten Kaiserkrönungen der Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reiches, Leopold II. 1790 und Franz II. 1792.


1794 wurde Carl zum Präsidenten einer Reichskreditkommission ernannt mit der Aufgabe, den Bankrott des von seinem Schwiegersohn regierten Herzogtums Sachsen-Hildburghausen abzuwenden. Seine Rolle war jedoch nur von kurzer Dauer, als er in Hildburghausen von dem Tod seines am 2. Juni 1794 verstorbenen Bruders Adolf Friedrich IV. hörte. Carl machte sich dann sofort auf den Weg nach Neustrelitz zur Bestattung seines Bruders und zur Thronbesteigung. Als Herrscher wird er unter dem bürgerlichen Namen "Carl II." Bekannt, da er nach Herzog Carl I. von Mecklenburg-Güstrow (gestorben 1610) der zweite Herrscher dieses Namens war.


Herrschaft des ersten Strelitzer Großherzogs


Nach einer friedlichen Herrschaft über zwölf Jahre brachte der Einmarsch in Deutschland durch den französischen Kaiser Napoleon große Umwälzungen und Veränderungen in Deutschland mit sich. Nach der Niederlage Napoleons dankte Kaiser Franz II. am 6. August 1806 ab und das Heilige Römische Reich wurde aufgelöst. Obwohl Carl seine Neutralität erklärt hatte, wurde dies von Napoleon verletzt, als französische Truppen im Oktober in das Herzogtum einmarschierten und es besetzten. Aufgrund seines hohen Ansehens, als Bruder der britischen Königin und Vater der preußischen Königin, konnte Carl im Herzogtum bleiben und war somit dem Schicksal seines Verwandten, des Schweriner Herzogs, der nach Dänemark verbannt worden war, erspart geblieben.


1808, nach zweijähriger Besatzung, war Carl gezwungen, Mecklenburg-Strelitz in den von NapoleonThe bust of Grand Duke Carl in Neustrelitz geschaffenen Rheinbund zu führen  und dem Kaiser zur Unterstützung seiner Feldzüge Soldaten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Nachdem er am 30. März 1813 viele Jahre lang schweigend die Besatzung erleiden musste, begann Carl öffentlich, die Bevölkerung zum Kampf gegen Napoleon aufzurufen. Nach der Niederlage Napoleons begann der Wiederaufbau und die Neuordnung Mitteleuropas auf dem Wiener Kongress, der im September 1814 einberufen wurde.


In Anerkennung des Beitrags von Mecklenburg-Strelitz verlieh der Kongreß dem Herzogtum die Städte Reifferscheid, Kronenburg und Schleiden, die alle in der Eifel in Westdeutschland liegen, obwohl sie von Preußen verwaltet werden sollten. Der Schweriner Herzog  wurde am 14. Juni 1815 vom Kongress zum "Großherzog" erhoben, und obwohl Mecklenburg-Strelitz erheblich kleiner als Mecklenburg-Schwerin war, setzte sich Carls Sohn Erbprinz Georg dafür ein, dass auch sein Vater  zum Großherzog erhoben wurde. Nach der Unterstützung von Hannover und Preußen am 28. Juni 1815 erhielt Carl den großherzoglichen Titel und Stil "Königliche Hoheit". Am selben Tag zog sich der 73 Jahre alte Großherzog effektiv aus der Regierung zurück und übergab die Macht an seinen Sohn. Nach der Auflösung des Heiligen Römischen Reiches im Jahr 1806 wurde Mecklenburg-Strelitz nach seiner Gründung durch den Wiener Kongress 1815 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundes.


Im Sommer 1816 reiste Carl durch eine Reihe von deutschen Städten, und besuchte seine Familie. Am frühen Morgen des 6. November 1816 erkrankte Carl an einer Lungenentzündung, und verstarb um 16.00 Uhr in Neustrelitz im Alter von 75 Jahren. Die Beerdigung des ersten Strelitzer Großherzogs war am 14. November in Mirow, wo sein Leben begonnen hatte, und er wurde in der Familiengruft in der Johanniterkirche beigesetzt. Sein ältester Sohn und Erbe Georg folgte ihm als Großherzog.


Orden und Ehrenzeichen


  • Ritter des Ordens vom Schwarzen Adler, Preußen (31. Dezember 1793)
  • Ritter des Ordens vom Roten Adler, Preußen
  • Ritter des Ordens des heiligen Andreas, Russland (4. Juli 1762)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Hl. Alexander Newski, Russland (4. Juli 1762)


Start > Geschichte > Herzöge > Carl

© Copyright 2010-2016

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Carl

Grand Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard



Grand Duke Carl wearing the star of the Prussian Order of the Black EagleGrand Duke Carl was born on 10 October 1741 in Mirow Castle the second son Duke Carl, Prince of Mirow and his wife Princess Elizabeth Albertine of Saxe-Hildburghausen. He was christened Carl Ludwig Friedrich. With the throne at his birth occupied by his uncle Duke Adolf Friedrich III, Carl was third in the line of succession behind his father and elder brother. As the second son of the heir presumptive it seemed unlikely that Carl would himself one day succeed to the throne.


Prince of Mirow and heir presumptive


Carl spent the first eleven years of his life in Mirow where he and his siblings were educated under the guidance of the Lutheran Reverend, Gottlob Burchard Gentzmer. On 5 June 1752 Carl’s father the Prince of Mirow died. Later that same year on 11 December his uncle Duke Adolf Friedrich III also died. As a result Carl’s elder brother succeeded to the throne as Duke Adolf Friedrich IV while Carl himself was now heir presumptive.


With his brothers succession Carl and his family moved their residence from Mirow to Neustrelitz. A few years later at the age of 14 Carl left home soon ending up as a Major in the army of the Elector of Hanover (also King of Great Britain). Carl had in fact technically been in the Hanoverian service since the age 4 when he was made a Captain. He continued to serve in Hanover until 1758 when he spent a year studying in Geneva. His link to Hanover became even closer when his sister Charlotte married the Hanoverian Elector and King of Great Britain, George III in September 1761. Carl and his elder brother had accompanied their sister on her voyage to Great Britain a month earlier.


In 1762 with the Seven years’ war (1756-1763) nearing its end Count Wilhelm of Schaumburg-Lippe, who had been appointed commander of British and Portuguese forces, requested that Carl accompany him to Lisbon to assist with the reorganisation of the Portuguese army, which was then engaged in the war against Spain. Carl sailed from Britain on his brother in law’s ship the HMS Venus and arrived in Lisbon in July a couple of days after Count Wilhelm. He was received by the King of Portugal, Jose I and his consort Queen Mariana Vitória a day after his arrival, with the king appointing him Colonel of a cavalry regiment and promoting him to the rank Lieutenant General. The cavalry regiment he became colonel of was also named “Duke of Mecklenburg” after him. On completing his posting in Portugal Carl arrived back in Britain aboard HMS Venus in January 1763. Having impressed his brother in law King George III with his service in Portugal, a month after his return Carl was promoted from a Major General to a Lieutenant General in the Hanoverian service. He would also go on to be made Governor of Hanover by the king.


Marriages and family


Carl was married on 18 September 1768 in Darmstadt to Princess Friederike of Hesse-Darmstadt a daughter of Landgrave Georg Wilhelm of Hesse-Darmstadt and Countess Marie Louise of Leiningen-Dagsburg. The couple would have ten children of whom five survived into adulthood. This surviving daughters were Charlotte (1769-1818) who married Duke Friedrich of Saxe-Hildburghausen, Therese (1773-1839) who married Prince Karl Alexander of Thurn and Taxis, Luise (1776-1810) who married King Friedrich Wilhelm III of Prussia and Friederike (1778-1841) who married first Prince Ludwig of Prussia, second Prince Friedrich of Solms-Braunfels and third King Ernst August of Hanover. Only one son survived into adulthood Hereditary Prince Georg (1779-1860).


Shortly after giving birth for the tenth time Friederike died on 22 May 1782 leaving Carl widowed with a young family to care for. Two years after the loss of his wife Carl was married in Darmstadt for a second time on 28 September 1784 to Princess Charlotte of Hesse-Darmstadt, the younger sister of his late wife. In Germany marrying the sister of a deceased wife was a common and popular practice at the time in order to provide the children with the most natural step mother possible. However the new domestic happiness was cut tragically short when Charlotte died on 12 December 1785 in the same circumstances as her late sister shortly after giving birth to a son, Carl (1785-1837).


Last years as heir presumptive


Having been widowed for the second time, in the August of the following year Carl asked his brother in law King George III to relive him from the post of Governor of Hanover. The king granted his request and as a reward for his long service granted Carl a pension and promoted him to the rank of Field Marshal. With his children Carl then retired to Darmstadt to live with the family of his late wives. With the children cared for by their grandmother, over the next few years Carl spent time travelling and visiting members of his family in Neustrelitz and Britain. Also between the years 1785 and 1793 he had the satisfaction of seeing his daughters married. With Darmstadt close to the Imperial Free City of Frankfurt, Carl represented the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz at the last ever coronations of Holy Roman Emperors, those of Leopold II in 1790 and Francis II in 1792.


In 1794 Carl was appointed President of an Imperial Credit Commission with the task of trying to avert the bankruptcy of the Duchy of Saxe-Hildburghausen which was ruled by his son in law. His role would be short lived however as while in Hildburghausen he received word of the passing of his brother Adolf Friedrich IV who died on 2 June 1794. Carl then immediately set about returning to Neustrelitz for the funeral of his brother and to assume the throne. On becoming ruling duke he is sometimes known by the regnal name “Carl II” as he was the second ruler of that name after Duke Carl I of Mecklenburg-Güstrow (died 1610).


Reign of the first Strelitz Grand Duke


After a peaceful reign spanning twelve years the invasion of Germany by the French Emperor Napoleon I brought great upheaval and change to Germany. Following defeat at the hands of Napoleon the Emperor Francis II abdicated on 6 August 1806 and the Holy Roman Empire was dissolved. Although Carl had declared his neutrality this was violated by Napoleon as French troops invaded and occupied the duchy in October. Due his high profile, being the brother of the British queen and father of the Prussian queen, Carl was able to remain in the duchy and was thus spared the same fate of his kinsman the Schwerin duke who had been exiled to Denmark.


In 1808 after having endured two years of occupation Carl was forced to admit Mecklenburg-Strelitz into the Confederation of the Rhine, which had been created by Napoleon, and to provide the Emperor with soldiers to support his campaigns. Having been forced to suffer the occupation in silence for many years on 30 March 1813 Carl began to openly call upon the population to fight against Napoleon. Following the defeat of Napoleon the rebuilding and reorganisation of Central Europe began at the Congress of Vienna which convened in September 1814.


IThe bust of Grand Duke Carl in Neustrelitzn recognition of the contribution made by Mecklenburg-Strelitz the congress awarded the duchy the towns of Reifferscheid, Kronenburg and Schleiden, all located in the Eifel region of Western Germany, though they were to be administered by Prussia.  Having witnessed his kinsman the Schwerin duke be raised to the dignity “Grand Duke” on 14 June 1815 by the congress, and although Mecklenburg-Strelitz was considerably smaller than Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Carl’s son Hereditary Prince Georg lobbied for his father to also be raised to the title grand duke.  After receiving the backing of Hanover and Prussia on 28 June 1815 Carl was granted the grand ducal title and style “Royal Highness”. On the same day the 73 year old grand duke effectively withdrew from government and handed power over to his son. After the dissolution of the Holy Roman Empire in 1806, Mecklenburg-Strelitz became a member of the German confederation after it was created by the Congress of Vienna in 1815.


In the summer of 1816 Carl travelled around a number of German towns visiting family. Having suffered from inflammation of the lungs, from which he was believed to have recovered, early in the morning of 6 November 1816 Carl was taken ill and died in Neustrelitz at 4pm that afternoon at the age of 75. The funeral of the first Strelitz grand duke was held on 14 November in Mirow where his life had begun, and he was interned in the family vault in the Church of St John. His eldest son and heir Georg succeeded him as grand duke.


Decorations and honours


  • Knight of the Order of the Black Eagle, Prussia (31 December 1793)-
  • Knight of the Order of the Red Eagle, Prussia-
  • Knight of the Order of St Andrew, Russia (4 July 1762)-
  • Knight of the Order of St Alexander Nevsky, Russia (4 July 1762)-


Home > History > Dukes > Carl