© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Borwin

Herzog zu Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr, Chef des des Großherzoglichen Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz



Herzog BorwinHerzog Borwin wurde am 10. Juni 1956 in Freiburg im Breisgau geboren. Er ist das jüngste Kind und einziger Sohn von Herzog Georg Alexander und Herzogin Ilona.


Frühes Leben und Ausbildung


Herzog Borwin wurde  römisch-katholisch mit den Namen Georg Borwin Friedrich Franz Carl Stephan Konrad Hubertus Maria getauft. Wie es für den ältesten Sohn der Familie üblich ist, erhielt er Georg als seinen ersten Vornamen, sein zweiter Name Borwin ist ein alter wendischer Name mit einer langen Verbindung mit dem Haus Mecklenburg von Prinz Heinrich Borwin I. von Mecklenburg, dem Enkel des  Vorfahren der Familie, Niklot, Fürst der Obotriten. Der Name Friedrich Franz wurde zu Ehren des Erbgroßherzogs Friedrich Franz von Mecklenburg-Schwerin, der zu seinen Paten gehörte, verliehen.


Herzog Borwin wuchs in Baden-Württemberg im Südwesten Deutschlands auf und erhielt zwischen 1963 und 1976 seine Ausbildung an der Waldorfschule in Freiburg. Nach dem Tod seines Großvaters  wurde er Thronfolger des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz ,Georg erhielt am 6. Juli 1963 den traditionellen Titel Erbprinz von Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Nach seiner Schulzeit diente Herzog Borwin in der Bundeswehr, wo er den Rang eines Hauptmanns der Bundeswehr erreichte. 1984 begann er ein Studium am Forschungsanstalt für Garten- und Weinbau in Geisenheim, das er 1987 mit einem Diplom in Weinbau und Getränketechnologie abschloss.


Familie und Karriere


Herzog Borwin war am 24. Dezember 1985 in Hinterzarten in bürgerlicher Trauung mit Alice Wagner verheiratet, am 19. Juli 1986 folgte eine religiöse Zeremonie. Das Paar wohnte im Schwarzwald in Baden-Württemberg, wo sie ihre drei Kinder gemeinsam aufzogen, Herzogin Olga, geb. 1988, Erbprinz Alexander, geb. 1991 und Herzog Michael, geb. 1994. Herzog Borwin und seine Frau leben noch heute im Schwarzwald.


Das Leben im Schwarzwald hat es Herzog Borwin ermöglicht, seine Outdoor-Interessen wie Umwelt, Angeln und Jagen zu genießen; zu seinen weiteren Interessen gehören Kunst, Kultur und soziale Fragen. Herzog Borwin engagiert sich aktiv in seiner Gemeinde für Kinder mit besonderen Bedürfnissen durch den Förderverein des Oberen Schwarzwälder Förderzentrums, wo er über 10 Jahre Vorsitzender war; er ist auch aktives Mitglied seiner lokalen Jagdgesellschaft.


Während seiner frühen Karriere leitete Herzog Borwin mit seiner Frau zwischen 1988 und 1995 ein Hotel, danach wurde er Manager einer Schweizer Getränkefirma. Zuletzt hat er eine Karriere im Vertrieb für Deutschlands größten Jagdausstatter Frankonia und für das Jagd- und Schießsportzentrum Vogel Eschbach absolviert. Seit August 2015 ist er auch lizenzierter Waffenhändler nach Abschluss eines Kurses an der Waffenschule in Suhl.


Chef des Hauses


Herzog Borwin wurde am 26. Januar 1996 nach dem Tod seines Vaters Herzog Georg Alexander zum Oberhaupt des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz. Aufgrund der Bestimmungen des Hamburger Vergleichs von 1701, wurde Herzog Borwin nach dem Tod von Erbgroßherzog Friedrich Franz von Mecklenburg-Schwerin am 31. Juli 2001,  auch Chef des gesamten Hauses Mecklenburg.


Herzog Borwin, der nicht in Mecklenburg-Strelitz ansässig ist, pflegt eine enge Verbindung zum Land und nimmt dort das ganze Jahr über verschiedene Funktionen wahr. Im Juni 2016 feierte er seinen 60. Geburtstag in Neustrelitz mit der  Familie, Freunden, Politikern und Würdenträgern. Die Familie stammt direkt vom russischen Zweig des Hauses Mecklenburg-Strelitz ab, das von Herzog Borwins Ururgroßvater Herzog Georg bei seiner Heirat mit Großfürstin Ekaterina Michailowna von Russland im Jahr 1851 gegründet wurde. Auch nach seinem ersten Besuch 1997  in Russland hält er Kontakte dorthin.


Nach seiner Amtsübernahme musste sich Herzog Borwin mit dem Rückerstattungsverfahren des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern auseinandersetzen, das sein Vater nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung 1990 mit Ansprüchen aus der NS-Zeit begonnen hatte. Als der Prozess im Jahr 2004 abgeschlossen wurde, hat die großherzogliche Familie einige Grundstücke und Gebäude in Remplin zurück erhalten, von denen die meisten in einem schlechten Zustand waren, darunter der Nordflügel des Rempliner Schlosses, der nach der Zerstörung des größten Teiles durch den Brandanschlag der Nazis 1940 noch erhalten war.


Der Hausherr Herzog Borwin hat sich aktiv an einer Reihe von wohltätigen Zwecken beteiligt. Er ist der Patron und Beschützer des Ritterordens der Greif, der verschiedene charitative Projekte unterstützt. Der Orden, der 1984 geschaffen wurde, belebte den Greifen-Namen des ehemaligen Großherzoglichen Mecklenburger Ordens des Greifs.


Herzog Borwin ist ein Unterstützer der Evangelisch-Lutherischen Kirche in Jordanien und im Heiligen Land (ELKJHL) und war zu Gast bei der Einweihung seines Taufortes am Jordan im Januar 2014. Er unterstützte die Republik  seit 1998, nach 54 Jahren Abwesenheit vom berühmten genealogischen Verzeichnis dem Almanach de Gotha und dient als Mitglied seines Comité de Patronage. Herzog Borwin ist auch Patron der Abstammungsgesellschaft der Orden der Gründer von Nordamerika 1492-1692, in den er aufgrund seiner Abstammung von König Felipe II. aufgenommen wurde, unter dessen Herrschaft Spanien Teile Nordamerikas regierte und kolonisierte.


Orden und Ehrenzeichen


  • Chef des Mecklenburg-Strelitz Hausordens der Wendischen Krone (26. Januar 1996)


Start > Familie heute > Borwin

© Copyright 2010-2017

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Borwin

Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard, Prince of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Head of the Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz



Duke Borwin was born on 10 June 1956 in Freiburg-im-breisgau. He is the youngest child and only son of Duke Georg Alexander and Duchess Ilona.


Early life and education


Duke Borwin was christened into the Roman Catholic Church receiving the names Georg Borwin Friedrich Franz Carl Stephan Konrad Hubertus Maria. As is traditional for the eldest son of the family he received Georg as his first Christian name, his second name Borwin is an old Wendish name with a long connection with the House of Mecklenburg dating back to Prince Heinrich Borwin I of Mecklenburg, the grandson of the ancestor of the family, Niklot, Prince of the Obotrites. The name’s Friedrich Franz were given in honour of Hereditary Grand Duke Friedrich Franz of Mecklenburg-Schwerin who was among his godparents.


Duke Borwin grew up in the state of Baden-Württemberg in southwest West Germany receiving his education at the Waldorf School in Freiburg between 1963 and 1976. He became heir apparent to the headship of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz upon the death of his grandfather Duke Georg on 6 July 1963 acquiring the traditional title of Hereditary Prince of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


After completing his schooling Duke Borwin would serve in the German Army where he achieved the rank of Captain of the German Federal Forces. In 1984 he began studying at the Geisenheim Grape Breeding Institute, graduating in 1987 with an engineer degree in viticulture and beverage technology.


Family and career


Duke Borwin was married to Alice Wagner in Hinterzarten on 24 December 1985 in a civil ceremony, followed by a religious ceremony on 19 July 1986. The couple made their home in the Black Forest region of the state of Baden-Württemberg where they raised their three children together, Duchess Olga, born 1988, Hereditary Prince Alexander, born 1991 and Duke Michael, born 1994. Duke Borwin and his wife continue to live in the Black Forest today.


Living in the Black Forest has enabled Duke Borwin to enjoy his outdoor interests like the environment, fishing and hunting; his other interests include art, culture and social issues. Duke Borwin is actively involved in his local community supporting children with special needs through the Friends Association of the Upper Black Forest Support Centre, where he was chairman for over 10 years; he is also an active member of his local hunting association.


During his early career Duke Borwin and his wife managed a hotel together between 1988 and 1995, afterwards he became a manager at a Swiss drinks company. Latterly he has pursued a career in sales for Germany’s largest hunting outfitter, Frankonia and for the Vogel Shooting Centre in Eschbach. He has also been a licensed weapons dealer since August 2015 following the completion of a course at the Weapons School in Suhl.


Head of the house


Duke Borwin succeeded as head of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz on 26 January 1996 upon the death of his father Duke Georg Alexander. Due to the terms of the 1701 Treaty of Hamburg, following the death of Hereditary Grand Duke Friedrich Franz of Mecklenburg-Schwerin on 31 July 2001 Duke Borwin has also been head of the entire House of Mecklenburg.


Duke Borwin, while not resident in Mecklenburg-Strelitz, maintains a close link to the state and attends various functions there throughout the year. In June 2016 he chose to celebrate his landmark 60th birthday in Neustrelitz with the celebrations being attended by family, friends and local politicians and dignitaries. Being directly descended from the Russian branch of the House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, which was founded by Duke Borwin’s great-great grandfather Duke Georg upon his 1851 marriage to Grand Duchess Ekaterina Mikhailovna of Russia, he also retains ties to Russia having first visited the country in 1997.


After becoming head of the house Duke Borwin had to address the restitution process with the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, which his father had begun after German reunification in 1990 with claims dating back to the period of Nazi rule. When the process was concluded in 2004 the Grand Ducal Family reclaimed some land and buildings in Remplin, the majority of which were in a poor condition, including the north wing of the Remplin Palace which was all that remained after the majority of it was destroyed by the Nazis in an arson attack in 1940.


While head of the house Duke Borwin has actively become involved with a number of charitable causes. He is the patron and protector of the Knights Order of the Griffin which provides support to various charitable projects. The order which was created in 1984 revived the Griffin name of the defunct Grand Ducal Mecklenburg Order of the Griffin.


Duke Borwin is a supporter of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land (ELCJHL) and was a guest at the dedication of their baptismal site by the River Jordan in January 2014. He supported the 1998 republication, after a 54 year absence, of the famous genealogical directory the Almanach de Gotha and serves as member of its Comité de Patronage. Duke Borwin is also patron of the lineage society the Order of the Founders of North America 1492-1692 which he was admitted into due to his descent from King Felipe II, under whose reign Spain ruled and colonised parts North America.


Honours



Home > Family today > Borwin