© 2010-2018

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share
Start

Start > Geschichte > Herzöge > Adolf Friedrich V

Adolf Friedrich V

Großherzog von Mecklenburg, Fürst zu Wenden, Schwerin und Ratzeburg, auch Graf zu Schwerin, der Lande Rostock und Stargard Herr



Großherzog Adolf Friedrich VGroßherzog Adolf Friedrich V. wurde am 22. Juli 1848 in Neustrelitz geboren. Er war der einzige überlebende Sohn des damaligen Erbgroßherzogs Friedrich Wilhelm und seiner Frau Erbgroßherzogin Augusta, geb. Prinzessin von Großbritannien und Irland. Als ältester Sohn des  Großherzogs trug er von Geburt  an den Titel "Erbprinz von Mecklenburg-Strelitz". Durch seine Mutter belegte er auch den 14. Platz in der Thronfolge und war als solcher die höchste Person in der Nachfolge ohne britischen Königstitel.


Thronfolger


Der neugeborene Erbprinz wurde am 12. August 1848 auf Schloss Neustrelitz getauft und erhielt die Namen Georg Adolf Friedrich August Victor Ernst Adalbert Gustav Wilhelm Wellington. Der Tag seiner Taufe war auch der 69. Geburtstag seines Großvaters Großherzog Georg, der den Anlass zu einer Doppelfeier machte. Seine Paten waren: Königin Victoria des Vereinigten Königreichs, Königinwitwe Adelaide des Vereinigten Königreichs, König Ernst August von Hannover, Großherzog Georg und Großherzogin Marie von Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Großherzog Friedrich Franz II. von Mecklenburg-Schwerin, der Herzog und Herzogin von Cambridge (Prinz Adolphus und Prinzessin Augusta), die Herzogin von Gloucester (Prinzessin Mary), Herzog Gustav von Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Landgraf Wilhelm von Hessen-Kassel und Feldmarschall Arthur Wellesley der 1. Herzog von Wellington.


Adolf Friedrich wurde mitten in den europäischen Revolutionen von 1848 geboren, als die Liberalen politische Reformen forderten und die Nationalisten ein vereintes Deutschland. In Mecklenburg-Strelitz gab es Forderungen nach einem neuen Wahlgesetz und nach der Entlassung von Regierungsministern. Im Frühherbst, als Großherzog Georg sich weigerte, den Forderungen der Revolutionäre nachzukommen, wurde die Situation in Neustrelitz so gefährlich, dass Adolf Friedrich, seine Mutter und seine Großeltern die Stadt für zwei Stunden verließen und  zur Sicherheit zum Schloss Hohenzieritz begaben. Dieser Schritt erwies sich als gerechtfertigt, denn in Neustrelitz brach ein Aufstand aus, mit Angriffen auf Häuser der Regierung. Nachdem sich die Situation bis zum frühen Abend beruhigt  hatte, kehrte die großherzogliche Familie nach weniger als einem Tag von Schloss Hohenzieritz zurück. Die Situation blieb jedoch für einige Zeit angespannt, da die Revolutionäre weiterhin die großherzogliche Familie bedrohten.


Im Sommer 1860 besuchten Adolf Friedrich und seine Eltern die Familie seiner Mutter in Kew in London, als ihnen bekannt wurde, dass sein Großvater Großherzog Georg schwer krank war. Als er am 6. September starb, wurde der 12-jährige Adolf Friedrich Thronfolger und Erbgroßherzog. Während seiner gesamten Schulzeit wurde der junge Erbgroßherzog von seinem hannoverschen Hauslehrer Hauptmann von Petersdorf begleitet. Der Kapitän war bei  Adolf Friedrich, als er Neustrelitz verließ, um ein Gymnasium in Dresden zu besuchen, und wieder, als er an die Universität Göttingen ging  um dort Jura zu studieren.


Nach Abschluss seines Studiums trat Adolf Friedrich der Königlich Preußischen Armee bei. Er diente in der preußischen Kavallerie während des Deutsch-Französischen Krieges von 1870 und war im Generalstab von König Wilhelm I. von Preußen. Für seinen Einsatz im Konflikt wurde ihm das Eiserne Kreuz der 2. Klasse verliehen. Nach dem Sieg der preußischen deutschen Führungstruppen am 18. Januar 1871 vertrat Adolf Friedrich seinen Vater bei der historischen Verkündung von König Wilhelm I. von Preußen als deutscher Kaiser im Schloss von Versailles.


Familie


Auf seiner Deutschlandreise traf Adolf Friedrich im Frühjahr 1876 Prinzessin Elisabeth von Anhalt-Dessau, die älteste Tochter des Herzogs und Herzogin von Anhalt-Dessau. Später in diesem Jahr, als er seine Cousinen Prinzessin Marie von Anhalt und ihre Tochter Prinzessin Hilda in Dessau besuchte, traf Adolf Friedrich wieder Prinzessin Elisabeth, welcher er  am 29. Dezember 1876 einen Heiratsantrag machte. Mit der  Verlobung, überraschte Adolf Friedrich seine  Familie am Ende eines traurigen Jahres, in dem Onkel und Tante Adolf Friedrichs, Herzog Georg und seine Schwester Herzogin Caroline im Juni verstorben waren.  Das verlobte Paar waren Cousins ​​zweiten Grades, da sie beide von Großherzog Carl von Mecklenburg-Strelitz abstammen.


Adolf Friedrich und Elisabeth heirateten am 17. April 1877 auf Schloss Dessau. Sie verbrachten ihre Flitterwochen am Genfersee in der Schweiz. Das Erbgroßherzogliche Paar hatte gemeinsam vier Kinder : Marie (1878-1948), die Graf Georges Jamatel heiratete und sich scheiden ließ, und heiratete dann  Prinz Julius Ernst von Lippe, Jutta (1880-1946), welche Prinz Danilio von Montenegro heiratete, ein Sohn und Erbe Adolf Friedrich (1882-1918) und ein zweiter Sohn Carl Borwin (1888-1908), der tragischerweise in einem Duell mit seinem Schwager Graf Georges Jamatel getötet wurde. Als Thronfolger lebte Adolf Friedrich mit seiner Familie im erblichen Großherzoglichen Palais in Neustrelitz.


Herrschaft als Großherzog


Nach 43 Jahren als Thronfolger, der ihn zum zweitlängsten Erben der Mecklenburg-Strelitzer Geschichte machte, wurde Adolf Friedrich am 30. Mai 1904 im Alter von 55 Jahren Nachfolger seines Vaters. Er teilte nicht die Feindseligkeit seines Vaters gegenüber Preußen, sondern begann die Heilung der Beziehungen zwischen den beiden Staaten mit seiner eigenen Proklamation als Großherzog, die dem Deutsche Reich sehr zugewandt war. Am Großherzoglichen Hof in Neustrelitz führte Adolf Friedrich ein militärisch anmutendes Auftreten ein, das während der langen Herrschaft seines Vaters nicht mehr vorhanden,  aber an anderen Höfen des gesamten deutschen Reiches üblich geworden war.


Politisch war Adolf Friedrich liberaler und reformfreudiger als sein Vater. Als Großherzog  versuchte er, das feudale Herrschaftssystem im Großherzogtum zu modernisieren, das neben seinem Schwesterstaat Mecklenburg-Schwerin die einzigen Staaten des Deutschen Reiches waren, die keine gewählte Versammlung hatten, was Mecklenburg viel Kritik von außerhalb des Deutschen Reiches brachte. Einige kleine Fortschritte wurden 1908 gemacht, als Adolf Friedrich in Mecklenburg-Strelitz ein Ministerialsystem einführte. Große Reformen wie eine neue Verfassung stießen jedoch auf heftigen Widerstand des Adels. Die Reformen waren Thema einer  Reihe von Sitzungen des gemeinsamen Mecklenburgischen Landtages, jedoch ohne Ergebnis, da der Adel,  der eine überwiegende Mehrheit in der Versammlung  hatte, die Zustimmung versagte und die Reformen damit blockierte. Im Jahr 1912, nachdem alle bisherigen Versuche, eine Verfassung einzuführen, blockiert worden waren, versuchte Adolf Friedrich, die Blockade zu durchbrechen, indem er bereit war, 2.500.000 RM aus seinem eigenen Vermögen in die Staatskasse einzulegen und gewisse Hoheitsrechte aufzugeben bereit war, um eine Einigung zu erzielen. Trotz dieser Angebote weigerten sich die Adligen zurückzuweichen und blockierten weiterhin alle Versuche, eine Verfassung einzuführen. Adolf Friedrichs Herrschaft konnte am Ende als langer, langwieriger und letztlich verlorener Reformkampf gegen einen mächtigen Adel charakterisiert werden.


Im März 1914, als Adolf Friedrich in sein zehntes Amtsjahr eintrat, wurde er krank und in die Privatklinik von Professor August Bier in Berlin eingewiesen, wo er auch operiert wurde. Danach wurde er nie wieder gesund und starb am 11. Juni 1914 im Krankenhaus. Seine Leiche wurde nach Mecklenburg-Strelitz überführt, wo sie im Familiengrab der Johanniterkirche in Mirow beigesetzt wurde. Sein ältester und einzig überlebender Sohn folgte ihm als Großherzog  Adolf Friedrich VI. nach.    Adolf Friedrichs Witwe Großherzogin Elisabeth überlebte ihn um 19 Jahre und erlebte auch den Tod ihres Sohnes, den Sturz der deutschen Monarchie 1918 und den Aufstieg Adolf Hitlers zur  Macht. Sie starb am 20. Juli 1933 in Neustrelitz. Da ihr Sohn nie heiratete, erwies sie sich als letzte Großherzogin von Mecklenburg-Strelitz und wurde neben ihrem verstorbenen Mann im Familienbegräbnis  in der Johanniterkirche in Mirow beigesetzt und brachte mit ihrer Beerdigung für einen Tag die verlorene Pracht des kaiserlichen Deutschlands  nach Mecklenburg-Strelitz zurück.



Orden und Ehrenzeichen


Mecklenburg


  • Großkreuz mit der Krone im Erz des Mecklenburg-Strelitz-Hausordens der Wendischen Krone (17. Oktober 1865)
  • Chef des Mecklenburg-Strelitz-Hausordens der Wendischen Krone mit der Ordenskette (30. Mai 1904)
  • Großmeister des Mecklenburg-Strelitz-Ordens des Greifs (22./23. August 1904)
  • Großkreuz des Mecklenburg-Strelitz-Ordens des Greifs (11. Februar 1905)
  • Militärverdienstkreuz Mecklenburg-Strelitz
  • Militärdienstkreuz Mecklenburg-Strelitz
  • 2. Klasse des Militärverdienstkreuzes Mecklenburg-Schwerin
  • Gedenkmedaille für Großherzog Friedrich Franz III. von Mecklenburg-Schwerin
  • Chef des Großherzoglichen Mecklenburgischen Grenadierregiments Nr. 89


Ausländisch


  • Großkreuz des Hausorden Albrechts des Bären, Anhalt (22. Mai 1866)
  • Ritter des Ordens der Treue, Baden (1889)
  • Großkreuz (ohne Stern) des Zähringer Löwenordens, Baden (1889)
  • Großkreuz des Ordens von Berthold I. von Zähringen, Baden (1889)
  • Ritter des Ordens des hl. Hubert, Bayern (1905)
  • Bayerische Jubiläumsmedaille
  • Ritter des Hosenbandordens, Großbritannien (19. Juni 1911)
  • Großkreuz mit der Kette des Ordens des Bades (bürgerliche Abteilung), Großbritannien (17. April 1877)
  • König Georg V. von der britischen Krönungsmedaille (1911)
  • Großkreuz des Ordens Heinrichs des Löwen, Braunschweig (1867)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Elefanten, Dänemark (19. August 1904)
  • Großkreuz des Königlichen Welfenordens, Hannover
  • Großkreuz des Ordens Ludwigs, Hessen (25. April 1877)
  • Ritter des Ordens vom Goldenen Löwen, Hessen (25. Juli 1882)
  • Ehrenkreuz 1. Klasse des Fürstenhauses Hohenzollernorden
  • Ritter des Hausordens von St. Peter von Cetinje, Montenegro
  • Großartiges Kreuz des Ordens von Prinz Danilo, Montenegro
  • Ehrengroßes Kreuz mit der Kette des Haus- und Verdienstordens von Herzog Peter Friedrich Ludwig, Oldenburg
  • Ritter mit der Kette des Ordens des Schwarzen Adlers, Preußen
  • Großkreuz des Ordens vom Roten Adler, Preußen
  • Großkommandant des königlichen Hausordens von Hohenzollern, Preußen
  • Ritter der Vogtei des Brandenburgischen Johanniterordens, Preußen
  • 2. Klasse des Eisernen Kreuzes
  • Deutsche Kriegsverdienstmedaille für 1870/1871 (für Kämpfer)
  • Kaiser Wilhelm II. Und Kaiserin Augusta Viktoria Silver Wedding Gedenkabzeichen
  • Leiter des preußischen 2. Pommerschen 9. Ulanenregiments, preußische Armee
  • Großartiges Kreuz des Ordens des Sterns von Rumänien
  • Ritter des Ordens des heiligen Andreas, Russland (1891)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Heiligen Alexander Newski, Russland (1891)
  • 1. Klasse des Ordens der hl. Anna, Russland (1891)
  • Ritter des Ordens des Weißen Adlers, Russland (1891)
  • 1. Klasse des St. Stanislaus-Ordens, Russland (1891)
  • 4. Klasse des Ordens des heiligen Georg, Russland (26. Juli 1874)
  • Großkreuz des Sächsischen Ernestinen Hausordens, sächsische Herzogtümer
  • Ritter des Hauses Orden der Rue Crown, Königreich Sachsen (1873)
  • Schaumburg-Lippe-Militärverdienstkreuz
  • Großkreuz des Ordens der Krone, Württemberg (1891)

© Copyright 2010-2016

The Grand Ducal House of Mecklenburg-Strelitz
Das Großherzogliche Haus Mecklenburg-Strelitz


Bookmark and Share

Home > History > Dukes > Adolf Friedrich V

Adolf Friedrich V

Grand Duke of Mecklenburg, Prince of Wenden, Schwerin and Ratzeburg, Count of Schwerin, Lord of the Lands of Rostock and Stargard



Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich V was born 22 July 1848 in Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich VNeustrelitz. He was the only surviving son of the then Hereditary Grand Duke Friedrich Wilhelm and his wife Hereditary Grand Duchess Augusta, née Princess of Great Britain and Ireland. As the eldest son of the hereditary grand duke from birth Adolf Friedrich held the title 'Hereditary Prince of Mecklenburg-Strelitz'. Through his mother he also occupied 14th position in the line of succession to the British throne and was as such the highest ranking person in the succession without a British royal title.


Heir to the throne


The infant Hereditary Prince was christened at Schloss Neustrelitz on 12 August 1848 receiving the names Georg Adolf Friedrich August Victor Ernst Adalbert Gustav Wilhelm Wellington. The day of his christening was also the 69th birthday of his grandfather Grand Duke Georg making the occasion a double celebration. His godparents were: Queen Victoria of the United Kingdom, Dowager Queen Adelaide of the United Kingdom, King Ernst August of Hanover, Grand Duke Georg and Grand Duchess Marie of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, Grand Duke Friedrich Franz II of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge (Prince Adolphus and Princess Augusta), the Duchess of Gloucester (Princess Mary), Duke Gustav of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Landgrave Wilhelm of Hesse-Kassel and Field Marshal Arthur Wellesley the 1st Duke of Wellington.


Adolf Friedrich was born in the midst of the European revolutions of 1848 with Liberals demanding political reforms and Nationalists demanding a united Germany. In Mecklenburg-Strelitz there were demands for a new electoral law and for the dismissal of government ministers. In early autumn with Grand Duke Georg refusing to meet the demands of the revolutionaries, the situation in Neustrelitz became so dangerous that Adolf Friedrich, his mother and his grandparents had to briefly leave the city for the safety of Schloss Hohenzieritz two hours outside Neustrelitz. The move proved to be justified as in Neustrelitz a riot broke with the homes of government minister’s being attacked. With the situation having settled down by early evening the grand ducal family all returned having been at Schloss Hohenzieritz less than a day. The situation would however remain tense for a while afterwards with revolutionaries continuing to threaten the grand ducal family.


During the summer of 1860 Adolf Friedrich and his parents were on a visit to his mother’s family at Kew in London when word reached them that his grandfather Grand Duke Georg was seriously ill. When he died on 6 September the 12 year old Adolf Friedrich became heir apparent to the throne and Hereditary Grand Duke. Throughout his education the young Hereditary Grand Duke was accompanied by his Hanoverian tutor Captain von Petersdorf. The captain was with Adolf Friedrich when he left Neustrelitz to attend a Gymnasium school in Dresden, and again when he attended the University of Göttingen to study law.


With the completion of his studies Adolf Friedrich joined the Royal Prussian Army. He served in the Prussian cavalry during the Franco-Prussian war of 1870 and was on the General staff of King Wilhelm I of Prussia. For his service in the conflict he was awarded the 2nd Class Iron Cross. Following the victory of the Prussian lead German forces, on 18 January 1871, Adolf Friedrich represented his father at the historic proclamation of King Wilhelm I of Prussia as German Emperor at the Palace of Versailles.


Family


In early 1876 while travelling through Germany on his way to Italy, Adolf Friedrich met Princess Elisabeth of Anhalt, the eldest daughter of the Duke and Duchess of Anhalt. Later that year having gone to visit his cousins Princess Marie of Anhalt and her daughter Princess Hilda at their home in Dessau, Adolf Friedrich once again met Princess Elisabeth, proposing to her on 29 December 1876. The engagement, which came as a surprise to Adolf Friedrich’s family, brought some welcome good news at the end of a sad year which had seen the uncle and aunt of Adolf Friedrich, Duke Georg and his sister Duchess Caroline both pass away in June. The engaged couple were 2nd cousins once removed as they were both descended from Grand Duke Carl of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.


Adolf Friedrich and Elisabeth were married on 17 April 1877 at Schloss Dessau. They spent their honeymoon at Lake Geneva in Switzerland. The hereditary grand ducal couple would go on to have four children together: Marie (1878-1948) who married and divorced Count Georges Jamatel, and married second Prince Julius Ernst of Lippe, Jutta (1880-1946) who married Prince Danilio of Montenegro, a son and heir Adolf Friedrich (1882-1918) and a second son Carl Borwin (1888-1908) who was tragically killed in a duel with his brother in law Count Georges Jamatel. As heir to the throne Adolf Friedrich lived with his family in the Hereditary Grand Ducal Palace in Neustrelitz.


Reign as Grand Duke


After spending 43 years as heir apparent, which makes him the second longest serving heir in Mecklenburg-Strelitz history, Adolf Friedrich succeeded his father on 30 May 1904 when he was aged 55. After coming to the throne Adolf Friedrich made a clean break with the past. Not sharing his father’s animosity towards Prussia he set about healing relations between the two states with his own proclamation as grand duke making well received friendly references to the German Empire. At the grand ducal court in Neustrelitz Adolf Friedrich introduced a more militaristic appearance which had been absent during the long rule of his father, but was one which had become a common sight at other royal courts throughout the German Empire.


Politically Adolf Friedrich was more liberal and open to reform than his father. As grand duke he attempted to modernise the feudal system of government in the grand duchy, which along with her sister state Mecklenburg-Schwerin were the only states within the German Empire that did not have an elected assembly, a fact that brought great criticism on Mecklenburg from within the German Empire and also outside. Some small progress was made in 1908 when Adolf Friedrich introduced a ministerial system of government in Mecklenburg-Strelitz. However major reform such as a new constitution was met with fierce opposition from the nobility. The issue would take up a number of sessions of the joint Mecklenburg Diet without agreement from the nobility who made up an overwhelmingly majority in the diet and could as such block reform. In 1912 after all previous attempts to introduce a constitution had been blocked, to try and break the impasse Adolf Friedrich offered to deposit $2,500,000 from his own personal fortune into the national treasury and surrender certain sovereign rights in order to reach an agreement. In spite of these offers the nobles refused to back down and continued to block all attempts at introducing a constitution. In the end Adolf Friedrich’s reign could be characterised as a long, drawn out and ultimately lost struggle for reform against a powerful nobility.


In March 1914 with Adolf Friedrich’s reign entering its tenth year he was taken ill being admitted into the private hospital of Professor August Bier in Berlin where he underwent an operation. He never fully regained his health and died at the hospital on 11 June 1914. His body was returned to Mecklenburg-Strelitz where it was interned in the family vault in the Church of St John in Mirow. His eldest and only surviving son succeeded him as Grand Duke Adolf Friedrich VI.  


Adolf Friedrich’s widow Grand Duchess Elisabeth survived him by 19 years, witnessing the death of her son, the fall of the German monarchies in 1918 and the rise to power of Adolf Hitler. She died on 20 July 1933 in Neustrelitz. As her son never married she proved to be the last Grand Duchess of Mecklenburg-Strelitz and was interned beside her late husband in the family vault in the Church of St John in Mirow with her funeral bringing back to Mecklenburg-Strelitz for a day the lost splendour of Imperial Germany.


Decorations and honours


Mecklenburg


  • Grand Cross with the Crown in Ore of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown (17 October 1865)
  • Head of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz House Order of the Wendish Crown with the Order’s Chain (30 May 1904)
  • Grand Master of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz Order of the Griffin (22/23 August 1904)
  • Grand Cross of the Mecklenburg-Strelitz Order of the Griffin (11 February 1905)
  • Mecklenburg-Strelitz Military Merit Cross
  • Mecklenburg-Strelitz Military Service Cross
  • 2nd Class of the Mecklenburg-Schwerin Military Merit Cross
  • Memorial Medal for Grand Duke Friedrich Franz III of Mecklenburg-Schwerin
  • Head of the Grand Ducal Mecklenburg 89th Grenadier Regiment


Foreign


  • Grand Cross of the House Order of Albert the Bear, Anhalt (22 May 1866)
  • Knight of the House Order of Fidelity, Baden (1889)
  • Grand Cross (without the star) of the Order of the Zähringer Lion, Baden (1889)
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Berthold I of Zähringen, Baden (1889)
  • Knight of the Order of St Hubert, Bavaria (1905)
  • Bavarian Jubilee Medal
  • Knight of the Order of the Garter, Great Britain (19 June 1911)
  • Grand Cross with the Chain of the Order of the Bath (civil division), Great Britain (17 April 1877)
  • King George V of the United Kingdom Coronation Medal (1911)
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Heinrich the Lion, Brunswick (1867)
  • Knight of the Order of the Elephant, Denmark (19 August 1904)
  • Grand Cross of the Royal Guelphic Order, Hanover
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Ludwig, Hesse  (25 April 1877)
  • Knight of the Order of the Golden Lion, Hesse (25 July 1882)
  • Honour Cross 1st Class of the Princely House Order of Hohenzollern
  • Knight of the House Order of Saint Peter of Cetinje, Montenegro
  • Grand Cross of the Order of Prince Danilo, Montenegro
  • Honour Grand Cross with the Chain of the House and Merit Order of Duke Peter Friedrich Ludwig, Oldenburg
  • Knight with the Chain of the Order of the Black Eagle, Prussia
  • Grand Cross of the Order of the Red Eagle, Prussia
  • Grand Commander of the Royal House Order of Hohenzollern, Prussia
  • Knight of Justice of the Bailiwick of Brandenburg Order of St John, Prussia
  • 2nd Class of the Iron Cross
  • German War Merit Medal for 1870/1871 (for combatants)
  • Emperor Wilhelm II and Empress Augusta Viktoria Silver Wedding Commemorative Badge
  • Head of the Prussian 2nd Pomeranian 9th Uhlan Regiment, Prussian Army
  • Grand Cross of the Order of the Star of Romania
  • Knight of the Order of St Andrew, Russia (1891)
  • Knight of the  Order of St Alexander Newski, Russia (1891)
  • 1st Class of the Order of St Anne, Russia (1891)
  • Knight of the Order of White Eagle, Russia (1891)
  • 1st Class of the Order of St Stanislaus, Russia (1891)
  • 4th Class of the Order of St George, Russia (26 July 1874)
  • Grand Cross of the Saxon Ernestine House Order, Saxon duchies
  • Knight of the House Order of the Rue Crown, Saxon kingdom (1873)
  • Schaumburg-Lippe Military Merit Cross
  • Grand Cross of the Order of the Crown, Württemberg (1891)